We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Street Living Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here after seeing photos online; it looked really nice. The room was very small, though quite well appointed. The floors had not been vacuumed before we arrived (the rug had bits all over it) and it was freezing cold. It didn't look anything like the pictures online; everything looked half-finished. The pillows were the most uncomfortable things we'd ever slept on, and the bed had terrible roll-together. Because of the layout, it was quite noisy overnight with the people next door arriving in the wee small hours. We were given out-of-date milk, but assured that it had been frozen and was okay. For the price we paid, we thought that in-date milk wouldn't be too much to ask for.
We paid $190, far too much for what it was. We stayed again a few nights later on our way home - we couldn't cancel the booking because we would have lost our money anyway. We were in a different room this time. It was clean and tidy, but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The shower had very poor water pressure and the toilet seat was wobbly. The kitchen light was hard to find and there was a paving stone on top of one of the kitchen cabinets instead of a proper bench. Because it's porous, it's not hygienic.
While we were there, a man arrived to check in. He went into his room then came out, saying, 'I thought this was a nice place!' He left. It sums up how we feel about our stay there.

Room Tip: Look before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    31
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
21
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here at the end of March. The motel is small as are the rooms, but you can't beat the location or the hospitality. Right on the heart of the main street with shops and restaurants on the doorstep. Less than a 5 minute drive (and probably only a 10 minute walk) to the ferry terminal.
We had a two bedroom unit (1 double and 2 singles). The bedrooms were small, but adequate. The living room and kitchen were small, but we three adults managed. The bathroom is large and needs updating. Maybe the new owners can look into stealing some room off the bathroom to make the kitchen larger.
High praise to the young couple who have taken on this motel and are renovating it. The dogs are friendly - even bringing a lead to you on case you might weaken and take them for a walk!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Booked this on line, paid more than price on outside board. Room had a comfortable bed and some new décor features but that could not make up for the fact that it was unbelievably small. We had to put our suitcases on the two chairs then move them to the bed when we wanted to sit. We were later told by the manager that this, along with 3 others, were once single garages that had been converted. Now you get the idea.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joopie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Tokoroa, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely little place with new hosts who are doing everything they can to upgrade their new business. Lovely people with very sweet dogs and a brand new kitten (at the time we were there). Very warm, relaxed atmosphere right in the heart of the town. Nothing was too much trouble and we highly recommend it. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skmcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Airport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Picton is lovely, and this will be a great little motel, but a way to go yet. Good on you to the couple who have taken it on and their gorgeous dogs! But I don't think we got value for money. A very small room at a greater cost than our rooms in Ibis Wellington and Mecure Queenstown. Clean and comfy and friendly owners though.

Room Tip: Twin room was tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great little Motel with cosy rooms! New owners are FABULOUS and very helpful! Gteat location close to everything! Very accomodating! While basic it has everyrhing you need for your stay! Comfy beds and great nights sleep! Highly recommend! Would definetely stay again! Dogs max and daisy great fun having around the property aswell!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieradunic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We liked the new owners who have taken this on to refurbish it and wish them well. However our room was not refurbished, very tired and the bed saggy and should be top of the list for replacement. Also we paid $150 per night for very poor value compared to other options. The motel itself is squeezed onto a small town centre site resulting in rooms in close proximity to each other and to the small car park. All movements in cars or people could be heard by us. We would
Certainly never stay here again, even when it has been refurbished as the site can never be changed

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Living Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Living Motel

Property: High Street Living Motel
Address: 45 High Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Tourist Court Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Street Living Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right in the heart of Picton, surrounded by shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. The Ferry terminal is only 750 metre's away and the railway statin is even closer than that. There is so much to do with the opening of the Marlborough sounds just a minutes walk from you room. You can book a fishing charter or just cruise the sounds eating seafood and having a couple good marlborough savvy's. You can book some push bikes and take in some of the beautiful scenery on offer.We have 10 units available, 4 Studio's and 6 family two bedroom units. Each unit has a carpark outside their door so need to worry about finding parking out on the street.We are pet friendly by prior arrangement so if you are moving and don't have an option of putting your pet in a kennel etc bring him/her with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your High Street Living Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Living Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing