We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful three night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of March prior to hiking the Queen Charlotte Track. I thought the service was really very good. We came by ferry from Wellington, which arrived over two hours late past 11 PM. Even so, Gary was there to pick us up (look for the sign at the bottom of the escalator) despite the late hour. The B&B is actually within walking distance (although I wouldn't do it with a lot of luggage), and the location is really superb. We stayed in the room with two twin beds with private bathroom located three steps away in the same hallway. The bedroom had a closet, space heater, and additional blankets. This room's view is of the treetops. The private bathroom has a separate shower and tub, with the toilet separated by a wall. Amenities include shampoo, shower gel, and make-up cleansing pads. No worries about other guests using the bathroom as theirs are en suite and Glenys makes it very clear that the private bathroom is exactly that, private.

The continental breakfast includes homemade greek yogurt, bread and muffins, fruit salad, and a stewed fruit. There are also cereals and preserves, and freshly pressed coffee. Breakfast is communal at the dining table so you will be eating with the other guests and with Glenys also present (and Gary on the weekends). There is no hiding behind a newspaper or eating and running. The portions are generous (help yourself), and there was plenty to get me through my first day's hike on the QCT. There is also a common lounge on the second floor with the three guest rooms, which is well-stocked with Marlborough sauvignon blanc, coffee, tea, and sometimes even homemade cookies! Very pleasant place to hang out and chat with other guests, although you can also politely excuse yourself if you want to leave. For this reason, I thought this place would be very ideal for a group (family or friends) to rent out all three rooms because the lounge area allows everyone to congregate while keeping the guest rooms private.

I really like Glengary and would definitely stay here again. It's very much like staying in a large family home of a distant relative, and I sort of liked this "returning home" feel every night. Since we stayed for three nights, Glenys and Gary invited my friend and I to join them for a little wine tasting/testing the final night (my predilection for the Marlborough sauvignon blanc well-known by that time) and yummy snacks where we chatted very happily for a couple of hours. I think Glenys is the one who takes care of all the guest rooms and bathrooms so I found the room/bath to be sufficiently clean for my purposes but my friend was disappointed in this regard. The room/bath was not cleaned every day, but Glenys invited me to collect clean towels from the hall closet whenever I wanted new ones. Glenys will help book tours and both are very generous with sharing information on the area (Glenys is the head of the local wine association while Gary is head of the local B&B association). When we left, Glenys very kindly agreed to drop us off at the boat pier by way of the Danish bakery so we could begin our hike (after helping us fill all our water bottles).

So, I really liked staying here, in no small part because I like the whole B&B concept. (I am such a sucker for homemade baked goods!) I can also see how if you are into a more anonymous hotel experience, where you don't want to interact with people you don't know, this might not be such a good choice. But if you want that more personal interaction with owners and don't mind talking to other guests, this is a great place to spend a few nights!

Room Tip: There are three rooms to choose from with different views and priced differently. Check their websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stopped here on the way back from North Island. Returned on the late ferry, to a warm welcome from Gary in the dark. Comfortable nights sleep. Warm welcome at breakfast from Glenys, a good breakfast and a great view, which set us up for our travels back into the South Islands.
A great place to stay its close to the ferry terminal, and a short walk into Picton centre, ample bars & restaurants.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YamahaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Glenys an Gary for one night after our ferry trip to South Island and again on our return to catch the ferry back to North Island. On both occasions we were warmly welcomed but especially so on our return stay..... It was just like going home. They were so interested in our adventures in South Island and genuinely pleased that the weather had been so good and we had had a terrific time.
The accommodation is comfortable and clean and although we had a twin room at the rear of the property the view of the garden was lovely. The views from the front bedroom was ideal for watching the boats in and out of the harbour.
Breakfast was continental and there was plenty to choose from and Glenys was on hand with offers of anything else or more of something if it was needed.
Gary provided the weather forecast each day before he went to work and lots of information about local attractions.

A great place to stay...home from home.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We enjoyed our one night at this homestay in Picton. The location is an excellent choice for Picton as it is walking distance to restaurants/bars/shops and very close to the Ferry terminal. There is a short walking path directly across from the property that brings you right to the main streets. The hosts were great and the breakfast provided was good as well. The guest lounge had tv/dvd, bar fridge, books, etc. Room was spacious and had everything we needed for our one-night stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

On our arrival at Glengary we received a warm Scottish welcome. Our room had two windows overlooking the harbour so it was brilliant for watching the boats/ferries coming in and out. All the guest rooms were on the first floor away from the owners private quarters. We liked the idea of a guest lounge which was well equipped including a complimenary glass of wine. Breakfast was simple and of good quality- cereals and toast but what was good was the homemade perserves. The highlight was the host playing the bagpipes for us as we ate breakfast - well it was St Andrews Day after all. During breakfast our host joined us and provided useful information of places to go etc. A first class homestay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnleyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed for one night end Oct 2012 en route to exploring the South Island. It is an excellent place to stay with very comfortable rooms and extremely friendly and helpful hosts. The choice for breakfast and the quality of the food is all you could ask for. The glass of Sauvignon offered on arrival was very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Glengary B&B in Picton from 16 March 2012. You won’t meet a nicer more obliging couple than Gleyns and Gary. They made sure we felt very welcome and had lots of good tips for our stay in Picton. They recommended the fantastic Beachcomer Mail Boat cruise of the Marlborough Sounds and booked it for us. They also provided helpful advice on good places for dining, walks and scenic drives. As a result, we had a wonderful stay in Picton.

Each morning Gary had the weather forecast printed off for us and we even got to hear him playing his bagpipes on one evening. Glenys did our washing which was very generous and much appreciated. The accommodation is a short walk from the town in a quiet location. The room was very clean, comfortable and was ideal for us. The breakfasts were healthy, hearty and delicious. Our hosts also ensured that the breakfast was gluten free for my wife. The guest lounge was very nice and you could serve yourself tea, coffee and wine from a small fridge that was provided.

The location is ideal with parking off the street in the driveway. The view from our room was just beautiful and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance from the B&B. If possible, make sure you stay 3 nights in Picton as it is such a lovely place to visit with lots to see and do. It was made even more special by staying at the Glengary B&B.

Room Tip: There are two ensuite rooms which cost the same so ask for the largest one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeACTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#3 of 24 in Picton
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengary Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Seaview Crescent, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £72 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengary Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glengary Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengary Bed And Breakfast Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing