We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine inn, fantastic hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine inn, fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice one-night stay at the Glengary B&B. The room was cozy with a great view of the harbor. It is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. What really makes the difference here are the hosts Glennis and Gary. They made us so welcome from the minute of our arrival. When we told them we had an early ferry departure, Glennis made sure we had breakfast available in the guest lounge. Then, when we learned our ferry was three hours late, we walked back to Glengary for a place to wait out the stay. We were welcomed immediately, given a cup of tea and a bit of Hobbit-like "second breakfast". What a treat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Two couples spend one night at Glengary. The rooms were very comfortable, although we did struggle to find a difference between the deluxe and standard queen rooms, except the tariff. Everything was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed Glenys' continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Be aware this B&B only accepts cash for one night stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We loved this comfortable, quiet b&b in Picton. Gary met us at the ferry port and gave a quick guided tour as we drove through the town, advising where to eat etc. The room itself was extremely comfortable, with stunning views over the bay and harbour. The guests sitting room had everything you could wish for, including home made Christmas cake ( which was delicious!)
Breakfast was equally good, homemade muesli, jams and bread. Pity we only had 1 night, would have loved more time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetLeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thank you Gary and Glenys of Glengary Bed and Breakfast. I arrived late on the 24th Jan to stay the night. I was met with a great reception. Gary and Glenys were warm and hospitable. Great views and lovely decor. Rooms and beds were comfortable and homely. The breakfast the next morning was absolutely lovely. Almost everything that I had was homemade and that made the experience even more memorable. I will definitely come back and also recommend to anyone who might need a night stayover in Picton to choose Glengary. The price was also reasonable for a single bed. Thank you Gary and Glenys!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We only a have a night to continue our journey of the South Island and back home to Hastings. I would have love to stay a little longer but my group just book a night. It's location is perfect even though you have no car. Everything is within walking distance to the marina and Gary was always gracious to offer the ride if you need to. Excellent host and your privacy is still very much considered. I would love to come back here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hosts Glenys and Gary have thought of everything in providing this bed and breakfast experience.
From the warm welcome, gorgeous views of Picton's shore and hillsides, to the lovely décor, very comfortable beds, and most enjoyable continental style breakfast.
I was taken to and collected from the Interislander terminal, and was able to leave my car at "Glengary" overnight when I was in Wellington which I really appreciated.
I was travelling alone and felt very well supported by my hosts.
Thank-you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Glenys and Gary make sure your stay with them is just like being in the home of friends. Glenys picked us up from the ferry terminal and kindly took us the following day to collect our car rental. Breakfast is worth having, homemade muesli, poached fruits and even home made yoghurt. All this followed by two different types of homemade bread and preserves. The view from the bedroom overlooked the harbour. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengary Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Seaview Crescent, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengary Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glengary Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengary Bed And Breakfast Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing