We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Picton Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escape to Picton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Escape to Picton
Ranked #4 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Excellent Picton Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had a fantastic time staying at Escape To Picton in the wonderful Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand. The room was perfectly presented with special attention to detail which created a calm relaxed and romantic air. The staff were knowledgeable, warm and friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. I highly recommend this lovely establishment and can't wait to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    16
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
113
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Whilst the room was immaculate, and well appointed, we were disappointed given the price that there was no coffee making facilities within the room. Moreover, milk was provided in a bowl with ice, rather than having access to a fridge in the room. One had to boil water in the corridor outside. Providing instant Coffee for five-star was not up to standard. In addition, no tissues were supplied which is a fairly basic item, particularly when one has a respiratory problem. Attention to these expected amenities and details would help this enormously.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatoceanvistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hello Reviewer,

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts, we only had our kettle on the landing for a week as one had broken, each suite has its own jug/kettle, this has been this way for over 2 months now. I am glad you thought the suite was immaculate, and well appointed, With the coffee making facilities within the room we have tried plunger coffee but clients did not like this and do make lattes etc complementary. We have tried smaller fridges but they make a noise due to the high ceilings and beautiful wooden floors we are looking into the ones that are quiet with internal motors, we do change the milk several times a day plus we are more than happy to place items in the fridge when needed also ice & ice buckets are also provided. Tissues are supplied in each of the suites so again I will check with housekeeping. Again thank you for staying at Escape to Picton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I booked direct with Hotel Owner by phone and the I emailed a confirmation to which I did not receive a reply. When we arrived only the cleaner was there and she denied all knowledge of our booking. Fortunately I had emailed a confirmation of our ETA. They eventually found our reservation for a MONTH later in their book. Obviously entered in error.
The owner was ill and the cleaner called the young chef who tried his best. Room was comfortable, food was ok , coffee was dreadful.
No bathroom amenities, no fruit plate etc as per the website.The champagne was sparkling wine.
We would not stay there again and the website is quite misleading.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Donna B, I spoke with yourself yesterday and your account is quite different to what you have put on here. Yes the date was wrongly put in the book for Feb instead of Jan an honest mistake. I was not here as I said but you said you found the young chef to be not good and told you several stories you found hard to believe he has now left our employ as we said. I have spoken to house keeping and I am not sure what happened except they did not know you were arriving and the suite wasn't finished completely with shampoo etc but as explained if you had asked this would have been quickly rectified. I also said I was sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Kind Regards Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

With a day to spare before our Ferry crossing, we wandered around Picton looking for a restaurant. We made this little treasure of a find, checked the menu and took a chance. The food was excellent, beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and obviously, a great deal of thought and care had gone into each plateful of food. The service was impeccable and friendly, the bill was no greater than the average 'pub-grub', the surroundings were very pleasant indeed and the delightful owner/chef made our evening a memorable experience. We asked if we could lunch there the following day and she opened the restaurant especially for us, preparing another stunning meal. My only regret is we'd booked into a nearby motel before we found this interesting and exceptional hotel. I would highly recommend Escape to Picton to anyone looking for a hotel with a significant difference. The whole experience, a delight.
Janice and David, UK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billierids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hello Janice & David,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and I was more than happy to open for lunch for you as you were such a delightful couple. We hope you have a wonderful trip around New Zealand and safe travels.

Kind Regards
Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I am bracing myself for the manager's reaction, cause i'v seen the "professional" reaction to other bad reviews. Pre-emptive strike: First i am sure that i have the right hotel, i travel a lot, had a lot of restaurant dinners and loved the places where we stayed in NZ. And dont mind paying good money for good stuff.
This is an account of our stay at Escape to Picton. It is not a 5 star location and should not be priced like that even 250 dollar is too much for an average, noisy room with a bed that gives you a beak-ache. We had dinner here too and cant agree more that the food is way overpriced. Its good homecooked food not a gourmet meal so price should be around 80 dollar and not 145 dollar.

To be fair : We liked the water in our room and the closeness of the Marina is also cool. You can also see that a lot of love is put in de appearance of this B&B. All in all a fair appraisal!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hello I have gone though all our booking and I have now emailed you as our meals are not what you have quoted at all. Our mains are $29 to $34 dollars a main. Most of our guests here have all been over 45 years in age and again as you have considered my reply I am struggling to place you or the suite you stayed in. If you did stay which I believe you didn't why write this???
Kind Regards
Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not sure what planet kate8884 is on but these rooms are fantastic large clean and were better than the pictures... a definate must stay! And the views are spectacular from the balconies..... Amazing staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hello Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so delighted you enjoyed your suite here at Escape to Picton. Staff appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return. Best of luck with your travels.

Kind Regards
Juliearna & Escape to Picton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Despite its rather unfortunate name, Escape to Picton is fabulous! Our room was both charming and luxurious. In fact, it was perhaps the best room that we occupied during a five-week stay in New Zealand. We had the "Formal Suite", which was huge and was decorated in antique splendor. Such a decorating theme could risk being gaudy, but in this case everything was in the best of taste. The service was wonderful, the breakfasts were custom-tailored to our requests, and Juliearna, the owner, was friendly, attentive and very entertaining. Were we returning to Picton, there is absolutely no doubt that we would again stay at "Escape".

Room Tip: The two suites, the Formal and the Modern, while very different, were both huge and well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 23 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape to Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape to Picton

Property: Escape to Picton
Address: 33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Escape to Picton 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Escape to Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escape To Picton New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing