We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique backpackers”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This place really is a must if you care about the environment in which you stay. A mid night walk into the bush to see glow worms and spin fire was an unique experience. I can't wait to go back next time. Thanks to the host for making this possible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
122
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

a little bit hidden in the back of picton, lies a wee gem, be sure to stay and enjoy. has great rooms, wonderful atmospher super hostess and great toys. is also just far out enough to be close but not loud, is easy to find but hard to forget

Room Tip: get the yummy breakfast ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I usually stay here when I come up to Picton. It's a small quirky hostel set in the back streets of town, but easy walking distance to everywhere. Friendly owner. Good sized rooms. Always clean. Environmentally concious. Nice spot for a quiet few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebear93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Only stayed here for one night but everyone was so friendly, helpful and welcoming and the place itself one of the nicest backpacker's I've come across - really comfortable and cozy! The owner Nikki, helped me suss out where to go for dinner and provided a cute handrawn map and also was well informed about some of the local walks, helping me decide which one I'd have time to do the following morning. I went for one of the double rooms which had towels and hand knitted bedslippers!! It's quite a small hostel so I would really recommend booking now if you're passing through Picton

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Definitely the most cosy hostel during my half year trip! Just nice to hang out on the deck and eat grapes or play with the plentiful toys. Fresh home made bread and jam in the morning and sometimes a fire show in the evening. Always nice people around and always a very good atmosphere. I stayed in most rooms and in my tent in the beautiful garden (came back here 4-5 times) and all accommodation is absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Jugglers Rest was most definitely a highlight of my New Zealand trip! I felt totally comfortable and at home before I had even walked through the door(of the awesome heritage building!). Nikki, the owner was fabulous and very kind. She was totally accommodating and helpful. With so many different circus toys to play with, there was never a dull moment, rain or shine! Yet, it was still a place that I could relax at, outside on the porch or inside by the fire.

Room Tip: Small dorm rooms, basically private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiantrav111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

If you want to feel like at home you can spend the nigh here. The rooms and all the facilities are very very very confortable and cozy. Very well personalized by the owner. Enjoy that!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugglers Rest Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing