We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully homely backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed at this hostel for three nights and it is the best I've experienced in NZ. Perfect for solo travellers as it's small and friendly. Very homely inside and a great deck with hammock and occasional evening fire shows. The owner Nikki is very welcoming too. wish there were more like this.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenbrum86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at Jugglers rest in February this year. When we arrived, Nikki, the host spent time chatting to us before showing us around the hostel and explaining how to get into town (8minute walk). There were lots of local information available in the from of organised folders done by Nikki herself. In the kitchen there were lots of herbs and condiments free to use which helps when you are travelling and only have the minimum with you. There was breakfast available on the morning which consists of homemade bread and homemade ams with fruit for $4. The juggling equipment around the place was free to use and Nikki French puts on fire shows for her guests, overall an gem of a hostel to stay in. Would recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan27317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What shall I choose to review? The beautiful house and gardens? The lovely comfortable rooms, the hand knitted slippers for each guest to wear during their stay? The enthusiastic friendly welcome from Nikki?
Or how about the home made bread and preserves for breakfast with proper coffee, a bargain $4? Or the relaxed friendly chat round the big kitchen table?
Some hostels are places you want to stay for longer and savour every experience.
For me the evening of Fire Poi and Fire Hula was exceptional - a really spectacular performance and not at all what I was excepting from my host!
So at Jugglers Rest, expect the unexpected and enjoy every moment!

Room Tip: Try the scented candlelit indoor bath or the more adventurous outdoor fire fuelled bath under the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We booked for 2 days and ended up there for 3. Would have stayed even longer if we didn't have an itinery to follow. Place seems to run on coffee which means dazed looking staff at the crack of dawn blindly stumbling to the coffee percolator, 20 minutes later, expect great service for the rest of the day!!! If you are having the cheap breakfast, try and book the night before as on the day might be too late. Come 7.30 am expect to drift awake to the smell of fresh bread, hmmmm, better than any incense sticks. We want to clone this place and put them all over the world so we always have somewhere fantastic to stay.

Room Tip: Apparently the cabins are very quiet as they are not connected to the lounge / kitchen like many of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday-pigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Most people stop in Picton simply to get on or off the ferry. However, you need to rearrange your plans to stay here at LEAST one night. I stayed here for two nights and walked "The Snout" down to the sounds during the day. Now as for the hostel, it has a chill vibe and is a great place to just relax. First, and most importantly in my opinion, the hostel is incredibly clean. The showers actually have pressure and are not that weak trickle found in many hostels. The staff are especially friendly and informative. The beds are very comfy (no bunks!) and the rooms are spacious. They have bikes you can take out for FREE (a word one does not use often in New Zealand). And last, but not least, they have tons of juggling toys for you to play with, or watch others play with!!! Just make sure to book ahead because the hostel does not have too many beds. After you leave, I'm pretty certain that you will be glad you decided to stop in Picton for a few days. Juggler's Rest is without a doubt one of the best!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Court_K492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

AWESOME PLACE, will defiantly have to make a trip back down south just to go back and see the crew and stay another week, everyone was really friendly and helpful, from the freshly baked bread and homemade jams all the way to the loan of couple fishing rods (thanks Gregory) and the fire show each night was awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed here with my wife & 2 friends who'd been here 16 years before. Great welcome & a neat little cabin room outside the main house with full access to the house showers & kitchen etc. Lovely home baked bread & ground coffee etc available in the morning for a few dollars extra & a pleasant garden to lie around in in season! Easy walk to the harbour (12 mins or so) and shops. Juggling is still a focus & don't be surprised to see residents experimenting with all sorts of toys!

Room Tip: The outside cabins are simple but pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.8 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 27 in Picton
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#10 of 27 in Picton
60 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £19 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town and there are walking tracks just outside our door. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including organic fruit, herb & veggie garden, breakfast, juggling toys, workshops in a variety of circus and spinning skills (poi, hoop etc) unlimited wi-fi, bikes, log fire, quality book exchange, musical instruments, barbecue, well equipped kitchen with a huge array of herbs & spices, information/advice/bookings on local activities AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugglers Rest Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing