We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As a performer, I stay at Jugglers Rest every opportunity I get. It's one of the most unique and beautiful places to stay that I have ever had the pleasure of finding. The atmosphere is relaxed and creative, and I feel like this is my home away from home. The food is also delicious, and I find the environment perfect for hosting workshops. Nikki is also one of the warmest, most inviting and lovely people I have ever met. She obviously cares a lot about creating something truly beautiful and that love really shines through.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Such a beautiful place! We've travelled all around the South Island, have been in many Hostels, but nothing compares to Jugglers Rest. It fells like home from the first moment, a great atmosphere, a wonderful warm feeling and Nikki... we loved you from the start! It was so nice to meet you and Bruce, thanks for your help and being such a great person!
...ah, and the breakfast, the homemade bread and jams, the grounded coffee... yummy!! don't need to tell more about it :) kisses & hugs, Nuri & Johannes

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oeznur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Such a warm friendly place- Nikki has created a welcoming and unique space, which is full of lovely touches including knitted slippers, hammocks on the deck, homemade bread and preserves. The building and rooms themselves are beautiful and spacious, but even better than that is sense of coming 'home'- really looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

what a great place to stop over in Picton! Beautiful atmosphere, circus workshops and toys to play with. Juggling balls, hula hoops, poi, staffs and more. Wonderfully warm living space, and great cabins and rooms to stay in!

Loved staying there

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanthe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at Jugglers during winter and was welcomed with a roaring fire, homemade jam and knitted slippers. Nikki has created a hostel that feels like a home. A well equipped kitchen, comfy beds and a relaxed and creative atmosphere all add up to a hostel experience that you'll be sad to leave. Having stayed in many hostels across NZ, this is up there with the best. Keep up the good work, Jugglers Rest.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

First I thought I am just gonna stay overnight to catch the ferry next morning. I extended for one more night, just because it was a really nice atmosphere to relax in the hammock, or on one of the sofas and try a bit of the juggling :)
Guys that help Nikki in the hostel even did a nice fire-juggling show in the evening!

Nice facilities all in all, you can even camp there.

PS: go check the glow worms when it gets dark in the nearby valley!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TevzCernigoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Such a unique place that was so lovely to stay in! On top of being a wonderful hostel (cozy, clean, and warm), Nikki herself sent me my lap-top charger to me in Cambridge, NZ after I had left it at the hostel! I was amazed and so thankful!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EvanieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.8 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#4 of 27 in Picton
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#13 of 27 in Picton
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £19 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town and there are walking tracks just outside our door. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including organic fruit, herb & veggie garden, breakfast, juggling toys, workshops in a variety of circus and spinning skills (poi, hoop etc) unlimited wi-fi, bikes, log fire, quality book exchange, musical instruments, barbecue, well equipped kitchen with a huge array of herbs & spices, information/advice/bookings on local activities AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugglers Rest Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing