We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“Lovely little hostel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It does not matter if you like juggeling or not, you will love it there :)
Originally I just wanted to stay for 2 nights in this beautyful little hostel, but I stayed for almost a week.
The people look very well after the place and are friendly and helpful. If you want information about tracks, the area or just a tip for some activitys they can tell you everything you need to know. After staying in so many big hostels, it was so much nicer to stay in a place where you can see, that the people love, what they are doing.
If you are a juggler (like me) you will probably know the place already. Lots of tools to practice with and mirrors on the walls, so you can see what it looks like. Perfect!
The cat is just lovely, I almost catnaped her :) But I don't had to, cause I will be back for christmas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
122
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Comfortable and enjoyable, nice people and good encouragement for people to get involved in local events. Good location not far from the town centre and very nice walk into town. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pinchey_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It's a bit outside of the center of Picton, but in a very calm environment. It's still in walking distance from the ferry/center (approx 10min).

The rooms, kitchen and facilities are nice and clean. The oven makes the living room comfortable when it's cold outside. Nice veranda and garden with vegetables (which may be used for cooking!).

The hosts Bruce and Nikki are helpful and friendly and pretty uncomplicated. In the evening they are also up for a drink and a chat with the guests.
The cat of the house, Omi, is also around and likes to be cuddled.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eksaarde, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice and friendly people! They invite you on several activities, like fishing trips or watch the all Blacks on big screen in a nice bar! Or just chill, play guitar, have some drinks,... in the nice decorated garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nikki and Bruce are great. As soon as I walked in the atmosphere was welcoming and homely. A lovely, and much loved, old building and a real home from home with the fire lit if the evening turned cold. Lemons and veg from the garden and eggs available too. Very quiet with a lovely river walk into town, and a fabulous deck to relax on out the back. I was treated to a great fire hula hoop performance and hula hoop lessons from Nikki and guest Dee. It's like nowhere else on earth and I loved it! Lin C, Scotland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in while traveling around New Zealand. The rooms are large and spacious, and no bunks!! There are socks you can use and the kitchen is well stocked!! The garden with fresh herbs and veggies is a great touch too. When you stay here, get the breakfast...it's well worth it and delicious. The coffee Nikki makes is also fantastic!

If you are tired from traveling and want a nice place to rest..I highly recommend this place. The hammocks and the various other little activities (juggling, poi, hula hooping) are a great way to relax. It's also walking distance to town. Love this place! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a great stay here with Nikki and Bruce, they are so welcoming and go out their way to make you feel at home. Both had great knowledge of the area and we followed their recommendations which were brilliant. After a fun day on the sounds we were welcomed back with the offer of a home cooked roast - delicious! Great breakfasts, they go the extra mile with homemade bread and jams on offer to enjoy! Well deserving of the trip advisor 'excellence' certificate that arrived just before we got there, placing them in the top 10% in the world!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LucyandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugglers Rest Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing