We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here having been travelled through Picton many times without stopping for more than a coffee. We are so glad we chose Jugglers Rest. We looked at the reviews posted on Trip Advisor and we can now see what all the fuss is about! It is without a doubt the cleanest and best run hostel we have come across in ten years of travelling. As soon as we walked in the gate we felt at home, an oasis of calm in an otherwise crazy world. The hosts, Nikki and Bruce, simply could not have been more welcoming and were fountains of information on local activities and tracks. We choose the smallest hostels we can as it usually gives us a chance to talk to the owners to find out about the lesser known attractions. Even an hour on the internet searching for local activities did not turn up nearly some many things to do as one ten minute chat with Nikki did. Jugglers Rest is in our view the perfect small hostel. A heritage listed building that oozes charm, beautiful gardens and hosts that do this for the love of it, not just for the money. We have worked in a number of hostels over the years and they could all learn about what a CLEAN hostel is from this one. Given the facilities offered and the knowledge of the owner we would also rate this as the best value for money accommodation we have ever stayed in. If you want to be experience what all hostels should be like then you simply must stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeticorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
80
118
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The Jugglers Rest is a welcoming home for any traveler. As soon as arrive you are greeted and introduced to the other guests by the owner and made to feel at home in their cosy living room.
The place is very clean the beds are super comfy with lovely warm blankets and the showers were hot.
A lovely courtyard and garden with an array of juggling toys to learn and play with plus shows to entertain you in the evening.
This is the second time I have stayed here and I could not recommend it highly enough in fact it has been my favourite backpackers in NZ.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BeeDelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The atmosphere at this hostel was amazing. The wood fire, home cooking (fresh bread for breakfast) and bath was exceptional and felt like a retreat. Also a great place for circus performers as the owners have been in the performance business for many years and the juggling balls, poi and hula hoops defiantly came out. You definitely can't beat this place for value, friendliness and the showers are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dream_worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was recommended this place by a performer friend and as a performer myself had an absolutely fantastic time here. We felt very welcome and it was very homely with plenty of circus toys to play with and practice with (they even have workshops occasionally)! The kitchen facilities are great, beautiful garden, nice rooms and you even get knitted wool socks to wear are the house. I will definitely be back again next time I'm in town. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Already when you enter the courtyard you realize that you've arrived at a place that is loved by it's owner. And as good as she treats her hostel/home she treats her guests and thus creates a very homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had never stayed in a backpackers before and I must say that we were extremely impressed with the cleanliness, the peaceful atmosphere and how friendly everyone was during our stay. As older guests we felt quite comfortable amongst the different age groups and many nationalities. The fire show was excellent. There's no TV at Jugglers Rest and this seems to encourage people to talk, cook together and socialise. Lovely garden and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseNZTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nicki does everything to make you feel at home when you arrive. It is my third stay there, always happy to come back, they are so friendly and if you are into juggle, there is lots of toys you can play with while you there. They are available to help you out, they found me a wee job on my first day in Picton! Fantastic place to stay and if you love it you can as well wwoof there ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julkawoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.6 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 27 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.6 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugglers Rest Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing