We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great accommodation”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Up a hill, yes, but well worth it for the view. Nikki gave us a very warm welcome and the rooms were spacious and the en suite bathrooms ( we travelled with friends) were huge and very modern. A very nice sun terrace at the front, overlooking the town and Queen Charlotte Sound just added to the overall 5 star rating. A need for a suitcase repair was met with the loan of a socket set - very helpful. An adequate continental breakfast but no cooked option. We had the offer of free transport to and from the town; a nice touch even though we didn't need it.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, but one is a lower level with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
58
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our stay before and after walking the Queen Charlotte Track at Brent and Nikki's place was just great. They are both very friendly people who went out of their way to make us feel right at home. Whilst their house is a little out of town, they were more have happy to pick us up and drop into town to catch ferries etc. We thoroughly recommend staying at their place if you are visiting Picton.

Richard & Helen (Brisbane)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a great time at Brent and Nikki's B&B. The minute I walked in it felt like home. That cosy and warm feeling. I was immediately impressed. The rooms were furnished beautifully, the bathroom was clean, large and spacious and it was great to look out the bedroom window to see the town of Picton ahead. We really enjoyed our stay and Nikki was fantastic with the tips of things to do around and on the outskirts of Picton. The house is about a 10 minute walk to town and this did not bother us at all. I highly recommend this B&B if you are staying in Picton!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumtree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A lovely house and friendly people, ideal for visitors to Picton and only 5 minutes from the boat dock for trips into the Queen Charlotte Sound.
We were very lucky that on the night we stayed, the family were having a barbicue to which we were invited and it was good to spend some time with Brent and Nikki but I wouldn't expect this to happen to every visitor!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Sounds Vista is run a husband and wife who have furnished the place to an exceptional standard and I doubt if any other Picton BB could boast such levels of cleanliness and excellent furnishings , it really is top class. It's located out of town which isn't a problem if you have your own transport but you will need to stick with a juice or coffee with dinner if you are driving , not that Picton offers any real culinary delights as it takes on an almost tacky 1980s UK seaside feel with fast food and families walking aimlessly , an odd place. Back at Sounds Vista you will get a great sleep and a chatty continental breakfast with your hosts. Picton I'm afraid , just didn't entice us to stay longer

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have booked a family room here. I was surprised when I walked into our room. Room was spacious, spotless, comfortable and much fabulous than the pictures show on the website.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyTsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had a great night at sounds vista. We were made to feel really welcome and we enjoyed the views, the beautiful room and the company of our hosts. Meeting Charlie and missy was an added bonus!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrutusfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thanks for your review- We are glad that the night spent with us was enjoyable. We were lucky with the weather to be able to share our BBQ with you both. We wish you a safe trip back to Auckland. Cheers Nikki & Brent PS Charlie & Missy say a BAA thank-you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
3.1 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.9 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 58 Dorset Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUNDS VISTA B&B has 2 well appointed luxury bedrooms - both with Queen size beds & spacious en suite bathrooms with amazing heated tile floor - feeling is believing - both with wonderful sea views. Also available a downstairs family room that sleeps 4 comfortable - 1 double bed & 1 king single bed & a sofa bed.This room has a detached bathroom upstairs. So not ideal if getting up and down stairs is a problem. All rooms with free Wi-Fi. SOUNDS VISTA B&B is located in a private setting & only 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive into the centre of Picton township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes & restaurants as well as the waterfront, where the many boats that cruise the Marlborough Sounds depart from. We can book your wine tour from our B&B, or go mountain biking on the Queen Charlotte track. SOUNDS VISTA B&B has stunning views of the harbour where you can watch the ferries go in and out while soaking up the view from our deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing