We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, friendly, hassle-free”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Whangarei
2 reviews
“Modern, friendly, hassle-free”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed a couple of nights en route for the Marlborough Wine and Food Festival. Turned out to be an inspired choice. More than your average BnB, Brent and Nikki really go out of their way to personalise the experience and make your stay memorable. The rooms are modern and comfortable with some nice touches you won't find elsewhere. Nothing is too much trouble, from fetching a late night gourmet pizza to dropping everything to deliver the missing tickets as we boarded the bus the next morning. Thanks guys, all the best

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pretty_Boy_Floyd027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
58
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Nice clean and roomy house with recently renovated rooms. Brent & Nikki provide a top-notch B&B and obviously take great pride in what they do. Although not super close the the Picton CBD, the walk would be fine if you wanted to stretch your legs, however, we were lazy and Brent & Nikki were happy to run us around. Although we didn't have kids with us on this trip they seem very family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKampers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed for 4 days in late January/early February (i.e. the middle of their summer). Brent & Nikki bought the house a couple of years ago and have spent a lot of time renovating. We stayed in the large downstairs room which has a queen bed and two singles, a sofa, fridge and flat screen TV with full Sky channel access. The bathroom is on the main level of the house and is small but adequate.

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful with tips about where to eat and local spots to visit. They are also very flexible about breakfast time and we were able to use the laundry room.

The living room of their house faces over the Marlborough Sound and has a magnificent view.

A great place to stay and no more than a very short drive into Picton. it would probably take about 20 minutes to walk into town.

We were mainly there for the scuba diving in the Marlborough Sound and we had a great time with Ben at Dive Picton. We went out on two days for a total of 4 dives and saw lots of Marine life. The last day we caught scallops and cooked them up at the Sounds Vista B&B.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renmaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Brent was kind enough to collect us from the 9.30pm interislander and that was just the start of their hospitality, they made you feel very welcome in their home and Breakfast the next morning was lovely!

We wish we would have booked to stay longer but we will return oneday and stay here again as bedroom and bathroom were amazing a gem in a B&B world!

Thanks Brent and Nikki I wish you success but you wont need it
Leonie and Gary

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I would recommend this bnb to couples and families - it's great value and very comfortable. Picton is a gorgeous little village and Sounds Vista overlooks it all. Nikki made us feel very welcome on arrival and gave us great advice where to shop and dine out in Picton.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spector001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Well appointed, lovely B&B with friendly courteous hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brutasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Room was lovely and modern, not spacious. Breakfast adequate. Very helpful with transportation to and from center of town.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irislover04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
3.1 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,022 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 58 Dorset Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUNDS VISTA B&B has 2 well appointed luxury bedrooms - both with Queen size beds & spacious en suite bathrooms with amazing heated tile floor - feeling is believing - both with wonderful sea views. Also available a downstairs family room that sleeps 4 comfortable - 1 double bed & 1 king single bed & a sofa bed.This room has a detached bathroom upstairs. So not ideal if getting up and down stairs is a problem. All rooms with free Wi-Fi. SOUNDS VISTA B&B is located in a private setting & only 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive into the centre of Picton township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes & restaurants as well as the waterfront, where the many boats that cruise the Marlborough Sounds depart from. We can book your wine tour from our B&B, or go mountain biking on the Queen Charlotte track. SOUNDS VISTA B&B has stunning views of the harbour where you can watch the ferries go in and out while soaking up the view from our deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing