We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave”

Grandvue Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grandvue Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Grandvue for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Our hosts Russell and Rosalie couldn't have been more kind. The accommodations were clean and comfortable with the most amazing view overlooking Picton and the Queen Charlotte Sound. Our breakfasts were very tasty with lovely fresh fruits, homemade bread and jam, muesli, and more. The topper was having breakfast with Rosalie and Russell in their living room and watching the All Blacks win the championship against South Africa - just like we were part of the family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for spending time with us, we enjoyed your company & sharing our rugby success, it was like having friends to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Had a lovely stay here, one night before and one night after the Queen Charlotte Track. Rosalie and Russell are very friendly and welcoming, and our accommodation (in the downstairs unit) was spotlessly clean and spacious. An added bonus was that Russell collected us from the ferry, and drove us down to collect our hire car on the day we left. The breakfast was delicious! And the view is indeed "grand".

Room Tip: Downstairs is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karorigrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We enjoyed having you stay before & after your Queen Charlotte Track experience. Maybe a return visit to enjoy other parts of the Marlborough Sounds in the future. Wishing you both all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lovely, somewhat old-fashioned B&B. Own facilities, lovely breakfast. Because of the relatively early arrival in Picton (around 11:30 am), and our idea that it was too early to arrive at the B&B, the owner was a bit confused in what time we were to arrive. An advice for new guest: maybe it’s wise to phone the owners to let them know when you’re planning to arrive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

My teenage daughter and I stayed overnight in the upstairs accommodation. The views are spectacular from the main living areas, and Russell and Rosalie are lovely generous host, with lots of local knowledge. Breakfast was healthy and more than enough. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, and hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We enjoyed having you & your daughter stay & look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your friendly comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in a room with no view at all and bathroom facilities to be shared with the hosts. Breakfast was OK but not cooked.

For some 135 dollars it seemed us terrible value for the money: just make sure in advance which kind of accommodation you are being offered.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Sorry that you were disappointed with our hospitality. There was never any intention of misleading you. Our advertising states that we serve continental breakfast & upstairs is share facilities with host. While the guest room does not have a view you are invited to share our home & conservatory which have panoramic views. We welcome guests who are in our home to enjoy this aspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed in Granvue one night before taking the ferry the day after and we highly recommend this B&B. The view from the room is just fantastic!! In addition the room is spacious, bed very comfortable, all very clean and tidy, breakfast very nice and the hosts were just lovely persons who also very kindly drove us to the ferry as we were running very late! Thank you so much again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
It was our pleasure to ensure your stay was one that you will remember
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We spent four nights in late September 2011 in the self contained unit. The view is superb yet it is also close to town so walking to restaurants or to the supermarket is not a problem. Rosalie and Russell are the consummate hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. Russell gave us a lift early in the morning to the boat for the Queen Charlotte Track day walk, Rosalie suggested a lovely fish recipe and provided the necessary utensils to make it after we had bought some fish to cook that night and, on the last night of our stay, they invited us to help them "christen" their new BBQ. Continental breakfasts were healthy,with plentiful supplies of fresh produce and it was a delight to sit and chat with our hosts. The unit was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was great to be able to prepare our own lunches and a dinner. If you are coming to Picton make Grandvue your choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellothere2uall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.3 mi away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 23 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#5 of 23 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandvue Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandvue Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grandvue Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19 Otago Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views of Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton from quality self-contained accommodation. Upstairs we have a queen, twin or single rooms. Centrally located, 5 minutes from the town centre, waterfront and water taxis. Close proximity to the ferries, train or bus services. Grandvue is a quiet haven in a secluded garden with a grandview. Feast on magnificent scenes and activity on the water from our deck or conservatory while enjoying a satisfying breakfast. Wifi, parking and laundry facilities available along with courtesy transport to local services if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grandvue Bed & Breakfast Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing