We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

What more can i say. Perfect place to stay. After staying in the filth of australia, this was our first stop. Great, great place

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPArnold82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    35
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
111
103
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Clean, friendly and quiet. Lovely views over harbour from garden and hot tub! If your budget can stretch to the apartment take it! We were "upgraded" for one night. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I spent four nights in a queen ensuite room at Tombstone. It was by far the best place I have stayed in my three week NZ trip, including more expensive hotels. The sleeping room and bathroom were spotless. My room also had a balcony. Even if you aren't used to staying in a hostel, this one will exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What a place! And the owners care about the place and take good care of the people that stay.

Equipped with lounge with large flat screen for movies, internet room with 4 computers, pool table, treadmill and exercise bike, and outside spa pool and sun loungers. Plenty of siting area and the kitchen is well laid out with 3 sinks and two hobs.

There are a number of dorm rooms (5?). The one in which I was had 3 bunk beds and backpack spaces. It was a little cosy but there was a patio door and windows to keep it airy, bright and so it didn't feel small at all. There are private rooms upstairs and an apartment as well.

Breakfast is included with cereal, toast, tea/coffee and freshly baked cheese scones :)

Lynn also does pickup/drop off if required.

The Tombstone Backpackers is a 5 min walk to town and 10min to the port.

I can't rate this hostel highly enough both for quality of facilities and also the friendliness of the owners. I would recommend this 5 star backpackers!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzyhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I stayed in the dorm and loved the place, the hospitality and the yummy breakfast cheese scones. The bathrooms were wide and very clean, even better than some ensuite apartments I stayed in. The mattress on the dorm bed were just right, not too hard nor soft.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

5 stars for this lovely place!!!
I´ve stayed two nights in a twin room and one night in a three share room. The rooms were spotlessly clean, they looked very appealing, more like a hotel than a hostel. The same for the bathrooms, they look very new and they are clean. There is a big area to hang around, a big garden (with a small spa!), on the terrasse is a pooltable and two hometrainers. They have a small internetroom with four computers, coin operated. Also wifi is available. The kitchen is big and clean, and there are many tables where you can sit and eat, or just relax. They also offer breakfast with toast, cereals and cheesescones, very good! The hosts, Lynne and Gordon, are fabulous! They assist you whenever you need help, and they offer free pickups and dropoffs, so all in all it´s a wonderful place!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This isn't a bad choice for a motel. It's a little out of town (about a 20-25 minute walk to the ferry terminal with luggage) and the room was very small (we took a double room on the first floor of the new accommodation block). However everything was clean, the owners were very helpful, and we had a nice balcony with good views. We didn't get chance to sample the (free) breakfast but caught a glimpse of several people enjoying it as we left in a hurry to catch our ferry. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_b_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing