We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Rothrist
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A place to stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Check out the comments in the Lonely Planet. This place is, as they write: "one of the best hostels we've ever seen." Not much to add to that :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_sweet_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    35
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
113
103
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Really nice place, The room was quiet, kitchen was very nice, there is a pool table. The room cost includes breakfast (very unusual in New Zealand for this budget price) which as well as toast/cereal included hot homemade cheese scones. The owners were helpful in dropping me in to town on one day when I was unable to walk. From reviews I wasn't sure whether it was worth staying in Picton. In fact Picton was lovely, and we were very happy to stay here 3 nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We chose this hostel because of it's proximity to the ferry terminal and it was perfect. We had our own car, which we left there (along with our extra luggage) when we hiked the QCT. Lynne drove us down to the water-taxi on the day of our hike and she or Gordon are available to drive people pretty much whenever they need a lift. We ended up staying there the night before the QCT and the night we returned and because we liked it so much, we booked it again for our last night on the S Island. It has a communal kitchen and breakfast is included with the room. There is a laundry facility available and lots of areas to sit around and read, watch tv, play pool, go on the internet or use the fitness equipment. There is even a hot tub. We stayed in a double room the first night and then opted for the apartment the other two. It was very quiet, despite being a busy place and being a short walk from town (maybe 10 mins) it is in an ideal location. Great hosts and clean, spacious rooms. Couldn't ask for better, and the price was great too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Gordon really took good care of us. We showed up without a reservation, and he squeezed us into one of the nicest places we stayed in NZ. Fully equiped kitchen, great hot tub, good breakfast (included), nice laundry, and clean clean clean. Gordon gave us great advice about where to go in town and even brought up our bags when Endeavor Express delivered them after we had checked in. Just a great experience

Room Tip: Everything we saw was nice, but the apartment is Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltaTraveler800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We loved our stay at Tombstone. We stayed in the only apartment for $110 per night. It had a full kitchen, separate bedroom, a somewhat small bathroom and had a lovely view over Picton. Everything looked new, as if it had been remodeled recently. I was a bit worried about street noise, and also the fact that the apartment was by the hot tub and some outdoor lounge seating, but we had no noise from other hostel dwellers and the street noise was minimal. The hot tub felt fabulous after a long day of hiking and kayaking the Queen Charlotte track. The kitchen was fully equipped and as an extra bonus, the hostel has two resident cats. The owner, Lynn, was also friendly and informative; she recommended wineries with scenic views and excellent lunches, and also recommended a company that has kayak/hike full-day trips along the Queen Charlotte track. She even called to make our reservation for lunch at one of the wineries (necessary on a weekend, we soon found out). All of her recommendations were great, we loved the wineries she suggested. I accidentally broke on of the glasses in our apt and offered to pay for it but she let it slide. This was the nicest room of any hostel that we stayed at, I can't recommend it enough!The hot

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We booked our stay through their website but when we tried to call them they didn’t answer the phone for 3 or 4 hours. Luckily we didn’t need their free ferry pick-up as they are very close to the Bluebridge ferry terminal. The hostel is very clean and modern. The website details the prices but the small print mentions that the price is only for BBH members and non-members pay 3 dollars more a night.

They upgraded us to a private room instead of a dorm as my boyfriend was sick. The room was more like a hotel, very nice beds and bathroom. The communal kitchen is clean but small with only space for one or two people to prepare food.

Breakfast is included but we didn’t have it as we had enough of cereals and bread.
It is a cosy hostel with a nice atmosphere but the common areas don’t seem big enough for the amount of people there. The internet is 6 dollars an hour which seemed more expensive than other hostels we’ve been to in New Zealand.
We used the free drop-off service to the Inter-Islander ferry terminal the next day which was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

One of the best hostels I have ever been to. Big room and comfortable rooms, free spa and breakfast and Lynne is one of the nicest people I know. I staid in a dorm, originally for one night, but I extended to 5. You can feel the warmth when you come in. 100% recommendation

Room Tip: Pick any room, you will be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harlequix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing