We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never seen better”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have been meaning to write to recommend this hostel since I stayed in Feb 2011 and it is only now that I am about to book again for this Feb that I have got around to it.

As with all of the other reviews I found nothing to fault in the service, cleanliness, location or facilities at this awesome Hostel.

I have traveled extensively throughout the world and have not found anything to match the Tombstone.

Lynne and Gordon have created a great home away from home either before or after days tramping the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Queen ensuite room for $75 a night - Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMacD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    37
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
113
105
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

What a pleasure it was to stay here! Lynne picked us up from the bus stop and took us to our next drop off point the next morning. It is such great service. The room was sophisticated for a backpackers, hotel style with soap on the pillow and all!!! The showers and bathrooms were extremely clean and with great water pressure and temperature. Fantastic kitchen, lots of people using it and the outdoor BBQ. Great little view from the top of the small hill it is perched upon. Shame we missed out on Lynne's homemade scones for brekky though, will have to come back again. Best place we stayed in our entire NZ trip!

Room Tip: Good views from twin room with shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Lynne picked me up at the bus stop, drove to the centre in the morning so I could take part in a walking tour and drove me to the ferry when I was leaving. She was so friendly and it was really appreciated!
The hostel was clean, toilets and showers excellant condition. It is not a party hostel, but I liked that. Big kitchen, free continental breakfast. Great atmosphere, would go back if ever in Picton again. The date is wrong, I was here in Jan 2009, but it doesn't seem to have lost its charm.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothrist
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Check out the comments in the Lonely Planet. This place is, as they write: "one of the best hostels we've ever seen." Not much to add to that :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_sweet_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Really nice place, The room was quiet, kitchen was very nice, there is a pool table. The room cost includes breakfast (very unusual in New Zealand for this budget price) which as well as toast/cereal included hot homemade cheese scones. The owners were helpful in dropping me in to town on one day when I was unable to walk. From reviews I wasn't sure whether it was worth staying in Picton. In fact Picton was lovely, and we were very happy to stay here 3 nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We chose this hostel because of it's proximity to the ferry terminal and it was perfect. We had our own car, which we left there (along with our extra luggage) when we hiked the QCT. Lynne drove us down to the water-taxi on the day of our hike and she or Gordon are available to drive people pretty much whenever they need a lift. We ended up staying there the night before the QCT and the night we returned and because we liked it so much, we booked it again for our last night on the S Island. It has a communal kitchen and breakfast is included with the room. There is a laundry facility available and lots of areas to sit around and read, watch tv, play pool, go on the internet or use the fitness equipment. There is even a hot tub. We stayed in a double room the first night and then opted for the apartment the other two. It was very quiet, despite being a busy place and being a short walk from town (maybe 10 mins) it is in an ideal location. Great hosts and clean, spacious rooms. Couldn't ask for better, and the price was great too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Gordon really took good care of us. We showed up without a reservation, and he squeezed us into one of the nicest places we stayed in NZ. Fully equiped kitchen, great hot tub, good breakfast (included), nice laundry, and clean clean clean. Gordon gave us great advice about where to go in town and even brought up our bags when Endeavor Express delivered them after we had checked in. Just a great experience

Room Tip: Everything we saw was nice, but the apartment is Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltaTraveler800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing