We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tombstone backpackers - a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tombstone backpackers - a home away from home”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Despite the ominous name and its location right next to the town’s graveyard, this place is a little gem! Lynn is a fantastic host and makes you feel welcome from the get go. We were picked up from the ferry terminal and given a tour around town and told the local hotspots and her hot cheesy scones in the morning for breakfast are to die for! Our room was nicely decorated, clean and the bed was so comfy! There are budget rooms, queen & twin rooms and queen rooms with an ensuite available. Breakfast is included and there are internet facilities, a kitchen, TV room, sun loungers for the nicer weather and even a Jacuzzi! If you’re looking for a friendly home away from home yet something that won’t burn a hole in your pocket I’d definitely recommend Tombstone backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    35
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
113
103
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

the best hostel we stayed in in newzealand. we had a double ensuite room which was clean, comfy and modern...the room had a balcony.
the lady who runs the place makes home baking in the morning and breakfast is a great bonus, as is the spa pool and bbq.
they have some animals i saw a cat and there is an avery with a variety of birds i have really bad allergies so was a little worried about the cat but no sneezing.
there is a lot of common space to chill/chat and make new friends a pool table (most fun game of pool as the slate is not quite flat) and large TV room as well as some inside/outside space for when the weather is bad.
hostel is quite large but we were not botherd by any noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

It has been a few years since I stayed in a hostel and was a bit wary about things, but needn't have worried at all. I had a very pleasant 3 bedded room with ensuite for $33/night (less had I been a BBH member). Everyone had their own bed (no bunk beds), with proper bedding and towels provided. Breakfast (cereals and toast) was also included in the price. The hostel is spacious and well equipped with a variety of lounges/reading rooms and a spa on the deck. The owners will happily do pick ups and drop offs for ferry/train etc. This proved a very nice re-introduction to hostels, I only wish the rest of them on my trip could have been as good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernkiwi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I booked a double private room with shared facilities. It had a great vista over the ferry terminal. A garden,hot tub, and provate porch in front of my room. Very quiet at night. Laundry and wifi available for a fee. Communal kitchen with fridge and cooking facilities. Excercise machine. TV room and lots of seating. Continental breakfast included in the price(bread, jam, cereal, milk). Dart board and pool table. Everything is spotless clean. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBirdSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great place, lynne is wonderfull. The day we arrived she helped us so much so we won't miss the coat we ordered, she made phone calls and tools us there with her car so we won't need to find parking.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikoWakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place is amazing! Lynne is fantastic and will go out of her way to make your stay a good one. The rooms are clean, tidy and have awesome views over picton. Meet some great people while staying here and would return in an instant!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is the first backpackers I've stayed in, not travelled on my own, I picked because of the reviews. It if more than the reviews. It is fantastic, friendly, spotless, kitchen is huge, AND Lynne bakes cheese scones every morning. She takes an interest in everybody, and everybody comes back. I did the Queen Charlotte way, and thought I could leave my stuff in my room, you know like a hotel, when I came back she gently told me that you don't do that in a hostel, and she'd packed up my stuff and left it for me!! And then just to add insult to injury I used her private washing machine as opposed to the guest laundry for which you have to pay...
STAY THERE

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing