We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter weekend holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Two friends, we stayed for a weekend to walk and relax in Picton and Marlborough. It was a rainy weekend so we spent some time indoors as well as walking and exploring. The hosts Lynn and Gordon were friendly and helpful. We were picked up from the ferry and given a lift to the ferry when we left. Tombstone backpackers is within easy walking distance of the main street. There are plenty of comfortable relaxing spaces at the backpackers The kitchen is spacious. Breakfast, tea, coffee, cereal, toast is included in tariff. Lynn also bakes cheese scones every morning. The backpackers is very clean and comfortable and a friendly environment. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Two friends, we stayed in a three bed room with ensuite on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa1Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stopped by for one night briefly on our way to Mountainbike the Queen Charlotte track. Arrived after midnight - hosts were very understanding and left directions out for us with keys to our room. Spacious hostel with loads of public areas, and decent sized rooms. Well located, space to park, a good recycling programme, and warm cheese scones in the morning... awesome.

One guy in our group said it was the cleanest hostel he'd ever stayed in... :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostintheether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We didn't plan to stay one night in Picton, but we were very happy we did. Tombstone Backpackers is an excellent place, we enjoyed our stay so much and we wished we would have time to stay longer. The best hostel in 3 months of traveling.

Tombstone Backpackers has a very relaxing atmosphere, the rooms are some steps away from the kitchen and the lounges. This is why the rooms are very quite. Our room, toilets, showers, as well as the whole hostel were very clean.

The Tombstone Backpackers is up the hill, this is why you have a nice view. Bikes are free for rent and the best was the whirlpool in the garden. So much fun to jump in.

In the morning the owner gave us a ride (after an excellent breakfast) right to the Wellington ferry.
We are very grateful to the owner, who really takes care of her guests and due to whom we felt like home there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenia_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This backpacker exceeded our expectations. the owners not only make delicious cheese scones in the morning and run a clean, spacious, relaxed backpacker, but they also drove us to the ferry and picked us up there a week later. We had an ensuite double which was modern and clean. We'd recommend this to anyone staying in Picton.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Before I booked here I'd read a lot of reviews of the place, but I was still surprised at the high quality of the accommodation. All areas of this hostel feel new and clean. Our room was a double with an ensuite bathroom, and compared favourably with many hotels I've stayed in.

The common areas are great as well, with a well equipped kitchen, several coin operated computer terminals (and wifi access), a movie room, pool table and exercise equipment and a BBQ outside. Parking available (and the hosts even helped us recharge the battery on the rental car after my husband left the headlights on!), and about a 10 minute walk to the centre of town.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Definitely the best budget accommodation in the area. Not only is the hostel extremely clean, the two owners are SO helpful. Must say as well that they have SUCH comfortable beds in the hostel, fantastic quality. Some rooms are en-suite, and came with towels, soap and shampoo, so it feels like a B & B, not a hostel. Plenty of space and also a help yourself breakast. Lynne, the owner makes fresh cheese scones in the morning as well, both owners are so helpful to guests. You could pay a lot more money in Picton and end up with a place not as good as this one. Even some tropical birds in the garden as well as a hot tub and a terrace to relax on. Only a short walk from the Bluebridge ferry terminal, this place is ideal for relaxing, recovering or as a base for the area. Would I recommend it? Absolutely. I keep going back there!!!

Room Tip: pay a few dollars more for a room in the back building, single beds an also en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no
2  Thank centraltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here before and after riding the Queen Charlotte track. Lovely welcoming hosts, who were more than happy to drop us down at the water taxi, pick us up again, and drop us again down to the Interislander terminal. Lovely clean, modern rooms, cosy backpackers with log fire, tv, pool table and quiet reading rooms if you want that. And what a treat, Lynnes home made cheese scones along with the cereal and toast at breakfast. Pizza night was very popular ( the hosts supply the bases , you supply the toppings) cooked in the outdoor pizza oven. I even overheard someone say they had heard about pizza night in Kaikoura and made it to Picton for it! I would definitely stay again. Can't fault it, great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 16 in Picton
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £16 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing