We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was the best hostel I have ever been to. Very clean and looks new. Nice breakfast with freshly baked bread with cheese. Nice lounge area. They have a fireplace inside and few cats. Which makes the place really cozy. Jacuzzi outside!!! Very friendly owners.
Very recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gintas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

A very intriguing place, as you can tell be the name! Its located near a cemetery-hence the name Tombstone. Very clean, affordable and walking distance from anything else in Picton. Wonderful community kitchen and other amenities. We had an ensuite room that had a walk out balcony with a stunning view of the sunrise. The hosts are prompt and friendly. I had emailed them with questions ahead of our travels and they responded right away. They also offer pick-ups from the ferry terminal if you need it. The breakfast was awesome too! I believe this place gave me the best night sleep out of our whole vacation as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Lynn was an amazing hostess. I arrived the previous day to book and pay for a shared room @ $25 for the night. The room was clean as is in the photos - they do not lie! The facilities were very good and wi fi is available if you take your own lap top (there were also computers there for you to use!) I am used to staying in hotels, so this was a bit of a first for me. And I was delighted with the privacy as well (I am sure being winter, it was very quiet compared to the thick of summer). There were a couple of cool cats and an avery with quails, canaries and a love bird! If I was in Picton again, I would definitely book a room here. Thanks Lynn for your lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in an ensuite room, it was like a hotel room for the price of a backpackers double ($75). Also the fascilities were great - spa, pool table, internet and several lounges with great chill out spaces. The place was really clean too. The BEST bit though was the breakfast, yummy hot cheese scones, just out of the oven! also ceral, toast...all you could want! the host are really friendly and helpful too :) highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tactnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Two friends, we stayed for a weekend to walk and relax in Picton and Marlborough. It was a rainy weekend so we spent some time indoors as well as walking and exploring. The hosts Lynn and Gordon were friendly and helpful. We were picked up from the ferry and given a lift to the ferry when we left. Tombstone backpackers is within easy walking distance of the main street. There are plenty of comfortable relaxing spaces at the backpackers The kitchen is spacious. Breakfast, tea, coffee, cereal, toast is included in tariff. Lynn also bakes cheese scones every morning. The backpackers is very clean and comfortable and a friendly environment. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Two friends, we stayed in a three bed room with ensuite on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa1Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stopped by for one night briefly on our way to Mountainbike the Queen Charlotte track. Arrived after midnight - hosts were very understanding and left directions out for us with keys to our room. Spacious hostel with loads of public areas, and decent sized rooms. Well located, space to park, a good recycling programme, and warm cheese scones in the morning... awesome.

One guy in our group said it was the cleanest hostel he'd ever stayed in... :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostintheether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We didn't plan to stay one night in Picton, but we were very happy we did. Tombstone Backpackers is an excellent place, we enjoyed our stay so much and we wished we would have time to stay longer. The best hostel in 3 months of traveling.

Tombstone Backpackers has a very relaxing atmosphere, the rooms are some steps away from the kitchen and the lounges. This is why the rooms are very quite. Our room, toilets, showers, as well as the whole hostel were very clean.

The Tombstone Backpackers is up the hill, this is why you have a nice view. Bikes are free for rent and the best was the whirlpool in the garden. So much fun to jump in.

In the morning the owner gave us a ride (after an excellent breakfast) right to the Wellington ferry.
We are very grateful to the owner, who really takes care of her guests and due to whom we felt like home there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenia_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 16 in Picton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing