We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Terrific!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The owners are very accommodating, they picked me up at the ferry when I arrived and dropped me at the train when I was leaving. The room was very clean. Breakfast was included and free internet access. I would recommend Tombstone to anyone traveling to or through Picton.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    37
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
113
104
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Breakfast included. Wake up to fresh cheese scones just out of oven!!! Awesome place to stay.
Really helpful and friendly staff. Great place to stay.
Clean rooms and plenty of hot water. It is a pain that I need to write 200 characters to be able to submit this review!!

Room Tip: En suite, worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Tombstone was the best place I stayed in New Zealand. The host couldn't have been nicer, the rooms were clean and beautiful, the common areas were well-appointed, and the hot tub overlooking the harbour was divine. Lots of great extras that were so appreciated, too, like breakfast, a real towel, and some free wifi credit. A fantastic value and a welcome step up from many other NZ hostels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZawacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was the best hostel I have ever been to. Very clean and looks new. Nice breakfast with freshly baked bread with cheese. Nice lounge area. They have a fireplace inside and few cats. Which makes the place really cozy. Jacuzzi outside!!! Very friendly owners.
Very recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gintas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A very intriguing place, as you can tell be the name! Its located near a cemetery-hence the name Tombstone. Very clean, affordable and walking distance from anything else in Picton. Wonderful community kitchen and other amenities. We had an ensuite room that had a walk out balcony with a stunning view of the sunrise. The hosts are prompt and friendly. I had emailed them with questions ahead of our travels and they responded right away. They also offer pick-ups from the ferry terminal if you need it. The breakfast was awesome too! I believe this place gave me the best night sleep out of our whole vacation as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Lynn was an amazing hostess. I arrived the previous day to book and pay for a shared room @ $25 for the night. The room was clean as is in the photos - they do not lie! The facilities were very good and wi fi is available if you take your own lap top (there were also computers there for you to use!) I am used to staying in hotels, so this was a bit of a first for me. And I was delighted with the privacy as well (I am sure being winter, it was very quiet compared to the thick of summer). There were a couple of cool cats and an avery with quails, canaries and a love bird! If I was in Picton again, I would definitely book a room here. Thanks Lynn for your lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in an ensuite room, it was like a hotel room for the price of a backpackers double ($75). Also the fascilities were great - spa, pool table, internet and several lounges with great chill out spaces. The place was really clean too. The BEST bit though was the breakfast, yummy hot cheese scones, just out of the oven! also ceral, toast...all you could want! the host are really friendly and helpful too :) highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tactnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#10 of 26 in Picton
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing