We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best backpackers I visited in 2 months of travelling in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Of all the backpackers I visited while cycling down the length of NZ, this one was the best. Lynne is a perfect host and the building and facilities are all clean, new, and of high quality. Beyond that this backpackers offers a lot more than most others I've come across: a spa, free unlimited Internet access, free milk for tea and coffee, and a pool table. The only downside is that you probably won't have a reason to stay in Picton for more than one day so your visit to this backpackers is likely to be over far too soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Tombstone Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Tombstone backpacker´s was where I started my South Island trip and it was a great chioce! I love the themed design of the place that includes the modern and stylish rooms.
All the place was very well maintained and clean. A huge TV, free DVDs, strong WIFI and FREE breakfast add a lot of extra value to my stay!
Moreover the owners are super friendly and helpful. Town center is in walking distance but if you feel you can´t make that, they will give you a lift :)
Right when I arrived, Lynne helped me to find and book the right Malbourough sound adventure for me and after I left she managed to find my e-reader that I, scatty enough, left in the room. She sent it via courier back to me. Thanks again for that!
An amazing place and hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Lynne chose the room for me and did a perfect job as it was quiet and even with bathroom attached.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0nny_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Tombstone is everything you want from a hostel - clean, spacious, friendly atmosphere, super helpful owners and a few lovely surprises thrown in (like a hot tub, wifi and freshly baked scones for breakfast all included in the reasonable price!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeGromit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

It's been 5 years since we visited your place and it was just as we remembered. The place has been well maintained, the same wonderful ambience.The fresh scones were wonderful at breakfast. Even the two cats added to the warm athmosphere. Great to see you again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I had a private ensuite room. Whilst small and simple it was immaculately clean and had some nice decorations and bedspread. It is more like a modern motel room.

The owners are friendly and accommodating. Off street parking can be a bit cramped if there are a lot of people staying with vehicles but one can also park on the street (away a bit from the hostel). The hostel is within easy walking distance of town. The kitchen is well equipped and the common rooms have comfy armchairs and tables. I only stayed for a night but wish I could have spent longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The owners are very accommodating, they picked me up at the ferry when I arrived and dropped me at the train when I was leaving. The room was very clean. Breakfast was included and free internet access. I would recommend Tombstone to anyone traveling to or through Picton.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jangh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Breakfast included. Wake up to fresh cheese scones just out of oven!!! Awesome place to stay.
Really helpful and friendly staff. Great place to stay.
Clean rooms and plenty of hot water. It is a pain that I need to write 200 characters to be able to submit this review!!

Room Tip: En suite, worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £16 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing