We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place is awesome... Nice staff, good vibe, extremely clean, and super convenient for the ferry terminal (and only a 5minute walk into town). The hostess, Lynn, is more than willing to give visitors a lift to and from the ferry terminal if they want it, despite the close location. There are delicious fresh scones for breakfast every morning. There are fruit trees if you want to forrage your own apples, lemons, figs or grapes. There is unlimited free wifi. There are two lovely cats who wander through the lounge when they desire (they're mostly outside though so don't be concerned if you're allergic to cat hair). There is a very clean hut tub for guest use. All this for the cost of all other hostels...Certainly a highlight of my experience so far.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsophieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    37
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
113
104
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just before departing Wellington and deciding where to stay we came across Tombstone back Packers on the web and saw it had great reviews and decided to give it a go. Considering we were a couple of 60 plus travelers and first time back packers we gave them a call. Found the owner Lynn a very friendly and responsive host over the phone. On arriving we received a real surprise to learn we had been upgraded and it was a 5 star accommodation with a complimentary breakfast and Lynn's homemade freshly baked cheese Scones thrown in. Full house of friendly young guests making for wonderful conversation. Lynn's hospitality will see us return someday and we will put the word out to our friends. Alex & Mary

Room Tip: View overlooking Picton a bonus, and if you want your own bathroom ask for a suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpies01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Aside from some slightly gruff customer service on arrival, this hostel far outweighed our expectations. We stayed in the apartment, which had good views over Picton and good facilities. A lovely hot tub with good views capped it off. Really good location for those sailing out on the Bluebridge ferry - the terminal building is literally just across the road!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The best hostel we stayed in during the whole of our two months in NZ. Lovely, friendly atmosphese , and the hot tub is a nice bonus! Very yummy free breakfast including freshly baked cheese scones made by the owner every morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniem1643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hostel, great owners. Felt very welcome and owners were more than happy to help out and even gave us lifts a few places. Hot tub a great addition. The cheese scones for breakfast were awesome! Rooms a little small and not enough plug sockets but clean and comfy etc

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzibob00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The room was very clean and looked completely new. So was the shared bathroom. The hostess is really nice, she is one of these people that make you smile a lot. She helped me even to find a hostel for the next day, in one of the competitors BBH. There was a really cute cat in the garden. There is free breakfast as well. There is free wifi which is quite fast, but works only near the reception, not the room. Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Best hostel beds we stayed in all trip! So comfy! Clean and cool lounge areas, great outdoor decks and our hosts were lovely! Well equipped kitchen, free wifi is awesome and a Great position to catch the ferry, would Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.3 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing