We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a home than a hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More of a home than a hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Awesome place!

From the free pickup and drop-off to the ferry, to the log fire and hot-tub overlooking the town. A great free breakfast is included with home-made scones and jam, toast and a selection of serials. Really homely feel in the lounge area's warmed by the log fire where there is free unlimited internet, piano, guitar's a heaps of books and travel guides to look through.

Outside there is a great chill-out area with a pool table, mini gym, and an awesome hot-tub with mountain views.

The room's are away from the social area so is really quiet and the wooden bunks (non squeaky) are real comfy with 2 pillow's each, a big thick duvet, sheets and blanket. Big wet-room showers and everything is literally spotless.

Top hostel, made even better by how it's run and the genuine care and welcoming of the host's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDP-gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    35
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
111
103
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here as a couple prior to getting the ferry to Wellington.
We thought the theme was very well thought out even down to the front door!
Clean
Great ensuite double room - newly refurbished. Good use of space. Warm and well insulated.
Good parking (free)
Excellent kitchen and communal facilities - lovely cozy fire.
Free wifi which worked very well in communal areas. Just need to enter a password - no messing around with tickets and repeated logouts!
Hot tub, exercise facilities (bike and treadmill) and pool table.
Yummy breakfast of fresh scones, as well as toast and cereals (also included)
A great stay and excellent value - wish we stayed longer! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a nice scary theme. A super service. Super clean. Quite. Nice location as it's a little bit uphill. Could have more chargers and a higher range of the internet.
+you get breakfast
The manager even drove me to annother hostel because I was no able to extend as the hostel was fully booked. Never experienced something like that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really friendly welcome, spacious well equipped kitchen, good showers, comfy beds, good pillows, lots of space to relax and perfect location for the ferry terminal. Only downside was the dorm room was a little cramped for 8people but it's not a problem if you're only staying a night or two pre/post ferry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter, and after arriving late on the ferry from Wellington were pleased to find the hostel is really close to the ferry terminal. Hostel is very well set up and Lynne was really friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the restaurants/main shops in Picton and good parking just outside the hotel. We stayed in an ensuite room which was much better value and quality than most hotels offer - clean and comfortable with a good ensuite. The free breakfast and scones are awesome! Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Picton - all hostels should be like this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra19902014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temuka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Recently did a road trip, by truck, from north to south, with my sisters. I read alot of reviews from Trip advisor before deciding the Tombstone was the best choice, in Picton, to stay....and I was right on the button. After a bit of an uncomfortable journey across the strait (due to bad weather and lack of seating with everyone being inside), we arrived at the Tombstone. It was 9pm and my driver just wanted a shower and sleep as we had a very long drive the next day. After being greeted, shown where to park and shown the amenities, we headed to our room. Wow...very lovely 3 bed with ensuite. The room was small, clean and great for an overnight stay. There was a towel and soap on each bed, spare blankets and gotta love the net curtains and drapes (would've loved to have taken them home with me). The water pressure in the shower was perfect and we all had a great nites sleep. Free breakfast all year round....great going. Besides cereals and toast, Lynnes fresh, hot out of the oven scones were soft and delicious. Before departing we were also able to wash and dry clothes which was a bonus. Would definitely stay at the Tombstone again...actually I think 1 sister is already thinking bout a return trip hehe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admack01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This place was a welcome relief after my horrible hostel in nelson. Warm, comfy and friendly arrival. Cosy lounge and communal areas. Spacious modern bedroom (dorm) with comfy beds and warm blankets. Only hostel I've seen that give you two pillows!
Two cats give it a home touch. Lynne was lovely and breakfast was great. Hot tub in garden also a great extra. No flaws, perfect hostel, you Wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonescl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing