We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Hosts”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #8 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ian and Paula are the perfect people to run a B&B. They are so friendly and kind. They made extra effort to make our stay, one night as part of our larger honeymoon, really nice. They were incredibly accommodating, had useful tips, and were generally just great people. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great. The muffin club is an excellent perk!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you Lizz so much for taking time to write such an outstanding review. We much appreciate it but I can't help thinking of it as two way traffic, so to speak. With such receptive and friendly travelers as you were it is so pleasant and easy for us to respond in similar fashion. But we are truly appreciative of the sentiments you have expressed and delighted in some small way to have contributed to your wonderful New Zealand sojourn - this is the main reason why we do what we do. Look forward to the muffin picture!
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ian and Paula were great hosts and made us feel very welcome in their home. Our bedroom was not the largest but this was more than made up for by the absolutely fabulous breakfast. Ian was able to give us very helpful tips on which walks to take and was also extremely good in helping us to find accommodation for the next leg of our journey(not easy on South Island in February as everywhere was very busy). We have to confess to having failed in the muffin challenge(sorry Paula!) but the muffins Paula made for us each day were amazing. Great place to stay

Room Tip: I think the cottages might be better value if they are available but book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiechris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hi Maggie & Chris,
Thanks for taking time out to write such a nice review. I can't recall the circumstances on the day but I imagine the larger rooms and the cottage were already booked at this busy time. The smaller room is more affordable for slightly more budget concerned guests and single guests and thus is a popular choice often. But we are very pleased you found your stay so agreeable. The muffin challenge is never over so do not despair! The object is a photograph of a muffin moment with any muffin ANYWHERE! So you have not failed in the quest.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a cottage at the rear of the property as all the bedrooms were taken and we stayed three nights. It was nice to have plenty of space and there is a separate living room. The two cottages are situated in a small garden at the rear. Ian and Paula were most welcoming hosts and full of useful information about the area. Breakfast was provided on a tray, the fruit was especially lovely. We had use of the washing machine and Paula even hung out things out on the line to dry. Gables is so close to the town centre as well, a super location. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hi Peter & Vivien,
I am so sorry, I really thought I had responded to your wonderful review, but it appears not. I know I wrote a response but I must have had some 'finger trouble' in sending the reply and made it vanish instead!
But thank you so very much for making the effort to post that review. We appreciate it very much and are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so and hope that you have taken nothing but wonderful memories home of your special time in New Zealand.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our third stay at The Gables and Ian and Paula continue to create a warm and home like atmosphere in their comfy B & B. The rooms are so tastefully decorated and comfortable and the lounge downstairs a good place to hang out if the weather was less inviting. Fortunately we have always had sunshine in Picton. The breakfasts are a special affair at The Gables featuring Ians smoked salmon. Be sure to ask about Paula's handmade soy candles; they burn clean, smell good, and last and last.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolanaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you Solana & Maya so much for taking the trouble to write this review. It is always a delight to host you but it makes it that much more special when we get feedback like this. Until next time!
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Ian and Paula are excellent hosts and they are very helpful about places to go and where to eat. We had the Globetrotter room which is the smallest but perfectly adequate. There is a nice lounge for guests to use and over breakfast there is good conversation with Ian and other guests.
The breakfast is very good and consists of fresh fruit salad with home made yogurt as well as cooked scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Ian and Paula are very well travelled and they were aware of some of the places near where we live at home.
On leaving we were given home made muffins to eat on our travels and then send a picture back. Ours didn't get very far I am afraid as we ate them just down the road! We would definitely stay there again and would recommend this to anyone looking for a personal service rather than a motel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Gosh Lynn & Alan, we are quite humbled by your lovely review and are very appreciative that you took the time to post it on Trip Advisor. Now the good news is that the muffin picture can be taken with any muffin as a prop whenever you have that magical 'muffin moment.' Perhaps during the pub lunch at the end of one of those long bicycle rides?
In any event, we very much enjoyed meeting you and chatting about your sailing and all manner of other things. May 2014 be all you wish it to be and we hope we are still at The Gables when next you visit New Zealand.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Charming hosts who are helpful and friendly. Lovely cottages (we had the smaller one with our two dogs, who were also made welcome). Comfortable night's sleep, close to central Picton and the marina with walks from the door. Recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the trouble to write a review for us. We enjoyed meeting you (including the dogs) and we are delighted that you were happy here. Have a wonderful and peaceful Christmas.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Gables in Picton is a B&B as a B&B should be: fantastic accomodation and lovely hosts. Paula and Ian will do everything to feel you at home in their romantic house. Also their funny dog makes you feel at home. When you leave you receive two muffins, to be eaten at a special "muffin-moment" afterwards of which recordings have to be send to The Gables. Look in their "muffinbook"to watch "muffin-moments of earlier visitors: some of them are hilarious!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hi Klaas,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments and for taking time to write a review. Of course we are delighted that you had such good memories to take home with you and we hope all of your NZ trip was similarly splendid. The funny dog was delighted with your comments too and sends kind regards!
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 23 in Picton
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: 20 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £77 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing