We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice in Picton”
Review of Kippilaw House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kippilaw House
Ranked #2 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good choice in Picton”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

stayed two nights here with Margaret and Bill, who made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. We very much enjoyed chatting with them and our fellow guests, and the wonderful smells which emanated from Margeret's kitchen. Our accommodation was spacious and very comfortable, and they made some good suggestions for things to see and do on our travels, including the seal colony on our route to Kaikoura.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Great you could manage to stop by and see the baby seals, such a great spot being up close and personal with the little ones. It was our pleasure having you in the house and delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kippilaw House.
Picton and the Marlborough Sounds are such a place of beauty we love sharing it with those that come to visit and have fun. Kind wish and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is top quality and great value. You feel like you're staying with friends - friends who have a lovely home and spoil you rotten. It's a great place with loads of character. Margaret's cooking is exceptional. Don't look any further than Kippilaw House. Thanks Margaret and Bill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Kippilaw House for your three night stay on Picton. Your kind words are appreciated we love what we do, we love the opportunity of meeting special people sharing with them the joy of this exceptional paradise Marlborough Sounds. Bill and I wish you all the best with your futures and hope your wishes and aspirations come true. Safe travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Kippilaw House was by far the best lodge we visited: a beautifully decorated home, full of victorian antiques and collectibles. Our bedroom was elegant, bright, spacious and perfectly appointed (down to the the silver tea service). The black and white victorian bathroom was charming, as was the en-suite library which was hard to leave. Our friends' room had itsown fruit garden! Hospitality was warm and friendly; Margaret and Bill were very welcoming hosts, we enjoyed their stories... The food was unreal: Margaret is a gifted (professional) chef and her New Zealand (and vegan) specialties were unbeatable. We are really lucky to have come across Kippilaw House, with all the choice there is, I really don't think we could have done better!
Cigale and Doron

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cigale o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Greetings from Picton New Zealand thank you so much for your kind words, we were delighted to have you all at Kippilaw House as our guests. I was particularly pleased you enjoyed my date scones and other foods I prepared for you.

Making different foods for different people and cultures is a lovely challenge. Thank you for stopping by at Kippilaw House meeting the four of you was our pleasure.

Please keep in touch I would love to share food recipes from both our countries. I expect you are home safely after your travels happy days to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kippilaw House for two nights - one night on each side of our Queen Charlotte Track walk. We have had the great privilege of staying at dozens of wonderful B&Bs all around the world and both agreed that Kippilaw House was the best of a very good bunch. Right from the time of booking, Margaret and Bill went above and beyond to ensure that we had a memorable stay. We felt thoroughly spoilt - because we were!
The whole house is fabulous but a few highlights would be the extremely comfortable bed, quality linens, a great shower, and of course the delicious food. I could easily go on, but it is perhaps best just to say that we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kippilaw House to close friends and family and will look for an excuse to return to Picton so that we can stay here again.
Many, many thanks to Margaret and Bill - you both do a tremendous job.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are delighted you had a nice stay with us at Kippilaw House. Thank you for your kind words. Picton Marlborough is such a well kept secret its heartening when outsiders love visiting. You had fun out on the sounds and we were glad we could continue that through.
We hope you have a lovely family Christmas and best wishes for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Margaret and Bill are wonderful hosts...the room was very comfortable and spacious..thanks for the coffee delivery in the morning Bill! The breakfasts are delicious...we loved being able to have some porridge...Picton is just a short walk away and the B&B is close to the ferry.
Margaret- we loved seeing the seal pups!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
We were delighted to provide porridge for your breakfast it is part of our winter breakfasts and a firm favourite. We appreciate your kind words and time to write us a lovely review much appreciated. I expect you are home rested and reflecting on your holiday in New Zealand. It was our pleasure having you in the house, Bill and I wish you a happy Christmas with family and friends and best wished for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safed Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights in Kippilaw House before we did the Queen Charlotte trek. The rooms were beautifully furnished and comfortable. We enjoyed the mealtimes and fell in love with their 2 lovely dogs. We loved chatting with Margaret in her enviable kitchen overlooking the lush garden and Bill gave me a tour of the garden one afternoon, it is like a garden of Eden with cherry, peach, lemon, berry, and other fruit and vegetables too numerous to remember but so abundant. Thank you both for a welcoming stay. Hint, remember to smell the beautiful roses climbing all over the front verandahs and growing profusely in the garden.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
It was our pleasure having you and your daughter stay a couple of nights at Kippilaw House. Sorry about the wet weather you experienced out on the sounds at least it gave you a better insight to our weather conditions.
We love providing a peaceful and tranquil garden for our guests to enjoy we of course enjoy the variety and visual aspects of it. It is excellent when we can pick fresh strawberries, boysenberries, raspberries and cherries for our guests and out breakfasts. I expect you are back home racing about with Picton a memory of a slower pace of life. Take care and happy days to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Margaret from Kippilaw House catered for our wedding in The Sounds in October. She completely understood what we were looking for being fresh local produce and presented it superbly. Our guests were raving about the quality and quantity. Margaret also supplied staff to help serve who were delightful and she also left home made chutneys, sauces and salads to help out for the next day. Thank you Margaret for making our day so perfect with your sublime food and wonderful approach. Janet

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JD2452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words Janet, I am delighted you and your guests enjoyed the local fare we provided for your wedding day.. It is important to offer fresh local produce where ever possible. You chose a fantastic setting for your Wedding at Mistletoe Bay perfect being able to all stay there as well. Bill and I wish you and your husband a long and happy life together and thank you for asking us at Kippilaw House to be part of your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
1.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
1.1 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kippilaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippilaw House

Property: Kippilaw House
Address: 98 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kippilaw House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel relaxed, warm and comfortable at Kippilaw House our guests often mention that they have walked in as guests and left us as friends. We are just a few minutes stroll to the waters edge of the Marlborough Sounds, cafes and various activities. Margaret is a professional chef/caterer of many years standing and loves sharing her recipes and experience in food. Bill is excellent passing on knowledge of the region things to do and see. Originally from the borders of Scotland he spent all his school holidays at Kippilaw Estate where his grandfather was the groom. We also operate a very well stocked deli Trailer at the Marlborough Farmers Market in Blenheim on Sundays where guests are most welcome to enjoy their breakfasts if staying Saturday night with us. We pride ourselves on good southern hospitality and place equal importance on the breakfast and the comfortable beds. Our point of difference is providing freshly sourced food with menus changing daily. Complementary afternoon tea is served at 3pm if you have not arrived this is left covered in your room. We make tasty interesting packed breakfasts for early travellers to take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kippilaw House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kippilaw House Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing