We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit tired”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whatamonga Homestay
Ranked #8 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Collette was a charming hostess but we felt that the room lacked what it needs to justify the price. We stayed in interlocking rooms as 3 adults. The only mirror was in the bathroom so that was a problem in the mornings. The 2nd room had no tea or coffee facilities or fridge so not worth the same price as the room with all the facilities. I was disappointed as I had been looking forward to the stay here. The views were gorgeous, it was just not good value for money compared to other places we have stayed in NZ.

Room Tip: Maybe the individual units would have been a better choice for us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback on our guest rooms. Having been a homestay operator for 14 years yours is the first negative feedback we have received on TripAdvisor and we welcome the chance to respond to your concerns.

Having spoken with you on numerous times during your stay, especially over breakfast, we are disappointed you did not raise your concerns about our rooms with us. This would have provided us with the opportunity to discuss alternative arrangements with you and rectify the situation.

Our rooms are usually reserved by families and friends who are happy to share the facilities and enjoy the intimacy of being in the room next door as opposed to a separate dwelling.

The majority of our guests do choose to stay in our freestanding units. For an additional $50 compared to the rooms, the units provide guests with their own bathroom and a kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. The units were both available during your stay and if you had expressed your concerns to Colette we could have easily relocated you to them.

With panoramic views of the Sounds our guests enjoy relaxing on their private decks and do not want televisions for entertainment. Other guests simply enjoy the location for what it is.

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your concerns and as you so rightly stated individual units would have suited your needs better and been a better choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Whatamonga Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We greatly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Whatamonga Homestay. The self contained unit was of an exceptionally high standard, with amazing views of Queen Charlotte Sound from the private decked balcony. At night we didn't even bother to close the curtains as the moonlight shining on the water was stunning.
Colette was very helpful with local advice and she made us feel welcome straight away. A highlight of our stay was getting to know her and other guests at breakfast which was taken in the main building. Breakfasts were excellent and varied and all with that amazing view of the Sound.
Whatamonga is only a short drive from Picton which is an interesting little town with a range of good eating places.
The views and Colette's hospitality make this place very special, we hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieandAndy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Colette enjoyed meeting your both and being your host. Thanks for the fantastic feedback. We hope you can return to New Zealand soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a gem! Location and views comparable to many 5 and 6 star NZ lodges. Hospitality as fine as it gets... Breakfasts obscene.... Thank G for long walks in the Queen Charlotte Sounds! Thank you to an amazing lady.... Colette!

Room Tip: There is no room better than the next.... All amazing
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RumpointRani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Whatamonga Homestay. Thanks for the fantastic comments. Hopefully it won't be too long before you are back at Whatamonga. Colette saids her warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at WH for 2 nights. We loved it. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the view amazing. It was good to spend time chatting with Colette over breakfast, she was friendly and hospitable. John really enjoyed the opportunity to fish too. It was about 15 minutes to Picton but well worth it for the beautiful location and fab accommodation.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Colette is delighted you enjoyed your stay at Whatamonga Homestay and sends her warmest regards. Thanks for the great feedback and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was more than we expected, quality accommodation with a wonderful view of Charlotte sound and passing boats. The room was modern, clean, comfortable and quiet, with sliding doors to verandah for the breathtaking views. Collette provides a sumptuous breakfast, and is an attentive host, and we enjoyed meeting her. It is well worth the 15 min. coastal drive from Picton.

Room Tip: You are given the best with the view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Wayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. Colette looks forward to welcoming you back to Whatamonga Homestay in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Set in beautiful Waikawa Bay, you can watch ferries,boats and fish splashing below you. Our private suite with balcony to the sea is magnificent with Marlborough Sounds environment. We stayed 2 nights and found it a haven for relaxation and appreciating this wonderful setting.
Twilight is filled with the sounds of wildelife and birdlife,while you watch the reflections on the water. Pure magic. Good beds and extremely friendly staff.
Hire a cycle to explore the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hi. Thanks so much for thinking of us and posting your lovely review. Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Great view. Nice facilities. Kind host. If I come NZ again, surely I will come whatamonga again. The only difficulty was my gps(garmin) indicated wrong place.
Shame my english is not enough to explain how great place here is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 천재바부팅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
3.8 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
1.7 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
3.8 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatamonga Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatamonga Homestay

Address: 425 Port Underwood Road, Picton 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £64 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatamonga Home Stay is a unique bed and breakfast experience located in the Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand. Whatamonga was purpose-built to provide two separate guest apartments and two guestrooms with private entrance on the ground floor of the main house. All offer private sunny decks overlooking the picturesque waters of the Sounds.Set in idyllic bush with panoramic views over Whatamonga Bay and Queen Charlotte Sound, the accommodation offers seclusion and direct access to the beach,yet Picton is only 9 kilometres drive away. Water activities abound, including swimming at the beach, fishing from the jetty, taking the dinghy or kayaks out in the bay, visiting the salmon and mussel farms, or fishing charters.Meals are served in the house, apartments, rooms, or alfresco on the deck.Whatamonga Homestay enjoys a Five Star TripAdvisor rating. See more details at dub dub dub whsl.co.nz ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whatamonga Homestay Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing