We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location alongside the bay with very clean, well equipped accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Spent 3 nights here and from the moment we arrived, we were blown away with the location.

Our host was very friendly and helped us with our day trip plans.

The rooms were very clean and the cooking facilities excellent.

Our room, as seems all others, have this fantastic view across out to the bay.

My kids had a great time wondering around along the sea front and great walks for all of us just a short distance away.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were unlucky in that we had arrived in Picton on a night when all the good accommodation was booked and so drove on out in the direction Waikawa Bay. Bay Vista looked ok from the outside so we decided to try it. Owner/manager(?) in the office disinterested and, reluctantly, eventually stopped chatting to her friend on the phone and showed us to a unit.
The unit was dark with very poor lighting, overall impression was of a very brown, depressing room. The bedroom was small, just about room to walk round the bed and we are both slim, but looked clean so we stopped the night as we had driven a long way and were tired and it was already dark.
We hated every minute of it. The table in the sitting room area was in a bad state, the chairs stained, all the furniture looked old fashioned, brown and dated. The light was inadequate for reading.
We left as soon as we could the next morning.
Yes, the view from the sitting room was good when we opened the curtains in the morning but that did not make up for the rest of it.
We moved on and stayed in the most wonderful apartments with even better views at Waikawa Marina (light years better and only marginally more) where we stayed for 3 very pleasant nights and just wished we had found them the night before.
Bay Vista is probably better suited to families who don't worry if the children accidentally make a bit of a mess or bang into anything. It is definitely not for you if you are used to good quality furniture and fittings and rooms with light and space.
It is possible, of course, that some of the other units might have been better than this one but I can only write about the one we stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Visited on the 29th November 2011 and stayed for a couple of nights: Our host Norleen made us most welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was clean, comfortable and spacious with fabulous views over Waikawa Bay. Only 4 km's outside Picton in quiet and beautiful surroundings it's the ideal place to stay whether you're waiting to cross on the ferry or planning to sight see the area. We were at the end of our trip around South Island and just wanted a place to chill until we crossed to North Island and we couldn't have found anywhere better! If you want somewhere to stay in the Picton area choose Bay Vista, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawbotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hosts very friendly. Unit sparkling clean to match sparkling sea view!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

arrived late, the host had warmed the room up for us, advised us were to eat which was good.
only stayed one night which was unfortunate as we didn't get to see the best of the area. This motel was in Waikawa Bay so very quiet and views to die for. The room was a good size and the bathroom was a great size. we will stay there again and next time arrive early to enjoy the views.

Room Tip: nice and quiet good sleep
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your motel and still regret it was only for one night. Next time we are in Picton, you will see us again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this motel, just a short distance from Picton. The surroundings were more peaceful and the view of Waikawa Bay from our unit was a delight to wake up to, or to contemplate over a glass of wine as the sun set. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious enough, with a separate bedroom. Our hosts were most welcoming and helpful in regard to local attractions. Excellent value and we would stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
320 reviews
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing