We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was clean, the staff was amazing really helpfull. The views are just amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineAndAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had a most enjoyable three night stay in a lovely spacious unit with views over the bay.
Just a two minute drive into Picton , and a most relaxing position.
The owners were most helpful and we would recommend this motel. If we were heading to Picton again we would certainly stay at Bay Vista.

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom unit with plenty of space and very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Bay Vista April 2012. Great location just out of town. Short stroll to the Marina which offers a wine bar with meals and a more up market restaurant. We ate at the restaurant which was excellent. Our room was 1 bedroom with separate lounge/dining area. Great view from both inside and outside teh accommodation. Set on a large land area, lots of space. Only 8 rooms divided into two blocks.

Units are very well appointed and clean. Bathroom recently renovated but the shower was very small. Only thing missing was a Bar-B-Q area.

Was a great base for our stay which included a wine tour (picked up and dropped off from Bay Vista, sound cruise and town exploration.

While not in the centre of town, a great place to stay with friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower level, slightly better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights older style motel ( New paint and Kitchen ) very very clean and Staff and owners very helpful and accommodating.
The views from your room are to die for a must stay

Room Tip: The showers are the only let down in the 1 bedroom as they are so small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a great place for a relaxing escape. We went here for a weekend away and it was great! Good comfortable accomodation for the priceand with fabulous veiws.
The front of each unit has a wall partitioning it from the other units which creates a wonderful sun trap and looks straight up Waikawa Bay and into the sounds. You could spend all day there relaxing and watching the world go by (and it does as the marina is at the end of the bay). There are also some great walks handy. Take a kayak if you have one.

Room Tip: This motel has a range of accomodatiion. We checked out 4 options before we settled on the middle on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Bay Vista is one of the better motels we have stayed at so far (it was no 8 on our tour). The lounge/diner/kitchen opened through patio doors onto a small patio, with stunning views across the bay. The living area was lovely, although the bedroom and bathroom were slightly on the small side. The accommodation was well equipped (it was the first accommodation to provide an in-room safe) and the owners very friendly and helpful.
We were due to stay two nights before crossing to North Island, but were delayed because of the storm that led to the ferries being cancelled. The owners were very helpful in ensuring we could stay the extra night and advising on what arrangements needed to be made.
We will certainly stay here again if ever we need to cross to the North.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newforestgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had just driven up from the Marlborough wine region with no direction known, but even more pertinently, no reservations for the evening. As we drove through Picton we just couldn't find quite what we were looking for, something just a little less busy. Then, we stumbled into the Bay Vista just a couple of miles out of town, on the quiet side of the bay.
The motel had just been renovated, was perfectly clean, and the receptionist was wonderful.
We sat on our porch drinking gin and tonics (no limes, but we were able to pick a ripe lemon off the tree just 6' away!) watching the colors from the sunset across the bay, which began about 150' from our doorway.
Downtown Picton and the ferry terminals and restaurants and grocery stores are all just a few minutes away.
This is not the Four Seasons. But if you're vagabonding around New Zealand, it's perfect.

Room Tip: We loved the unit on the far end away from the office. The one with the lemon tree with fresh lemon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
273 reviews
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
682 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
340 reviews
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing