We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Welland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The view on the bay is fantastic. Only stayed for one night before catching the ferry which is just a short drive away. The accommodation was superb, extremely clean and very roomy for our family of 6. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Landscaped gardens were beautiful even in the winter and it was fun watching the ducks. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneW431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Our larger units are great for families where you can enjoy your walk down to the water, it was a pleasure to have you all and we hope the ferry trip went well. We thank you for your review and I know you will share your experience with family and friends. Kindest regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    67
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
193
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Staying here is like being in your own home but in our case, with a much more pleasant view. Clean cosy rooms, Great, practical kitchen which we were grateful for after two previous days of eating out. Love the feeling of not being afraid to touch anything in case you break or mark it. Can you believe they had the audacity to warm our room on a fairly cool evening prior to us arriving, I mean wassup with that?:) Stayed 2 nights but if our ferry had been delayed a couple of days, we would've been quietly pleased about it. For those of you who cant stand being away from social media, free wifi is available. Five green spots does not do this place justice and all the positve reviews on this place, we whole heartedly agree with. C'mon TripAdvsor, really, green spots???

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi Jasmine - well the weather is warming up (so we thought until a snow drop further south last week) - have just realised I missed answering your review. Magic is the word for our lovely setting here and the enjoyable part is meeting so many lovely guests. Hopefully one day you will return and have another great stay. Have a great Christmas. Kind regards
The Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We chanced on this gem whilst driving thru and are so glad we stayed a night here. The hosts were easily the friendliest and warmest couple we have met in new zealand. They even warmed out our unit before our arrival.
The accomodation was very spacious, comfortably, kitchen excellently equipped and new, with stunning views of the bay. Bathroom was particularly well suited for use by the elderly
We were so pleasantly surprised that our badly soiled car windscreen was even given a light wash in the morning. What a service! I guess the hosts just cant help being their true selves......hospitable and thoughtful kiwis!
To wake up to the magnificent bay view is value enough for the stay
Thank you for the memorable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We just Love working in our home away from home, our Guests are like family to us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with here at our very Special location on the Waterfront.
Kindest regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were looking for a unit for ourselves and young family to stay overnight in Picton. Located in Wiakawa bay which is a short drive from the Interislander, we found it a very tranquil place to stay with a world class view in the morning with the sun rising over the yachts in the bay . Spotlessly clean and modern, it was a very warm unit and was a very pleasant stay overall. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and gave us great recommendations for dinner. Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairlieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Folks - we are so pleased you enjoyed the tranquility of our very special location here at Waikawa and we look forward to your return and maybe next time an extra day to do the fantastic Mail Run.
Kind regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Wonderful waterfront full apartment with outdoor patio, full kitchen, seperate bedroom and living room a few miles away from the hustle of center Picton. Incredibly kind and knowledgable manager.We stayed 2 nights and toured Marborough Sound by Mailrun which is very worthwhile and then hiked some of the shorter trails. My husband and I loved the area so much we can see returning for a several months stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Folks - great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Mailrun is well worth the extra days stay for those who have the time. We look forward to your return.
Kind regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels in Waikawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Wonderful views of the water from our lounge room and an extremely peaceful setting. Great place
To stay nd unwind. The mAngers were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Our only small gripe is the wifi which didn't work from our room. It meant we had to go outside for intermittent service. A small inconvenience for a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are so pleased you were able to share our fantastic surroundings here at Waikawa and enjoy it all. We are working on the Wifi and hopefully next time you come and stay we will have it sorted.
Kind regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Nice view. Clean and well equipped kitchen. The furnishing is on the older side but the whole place is clean. The couple that run the place is nice and helpful. Close to central of town. They are very flexible too as I changed my date of stay on the morning we were suppose to arrive due to bad weather. They were happy to change the period of stay for us as they managed to juggle the rooms around.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks folks for your review. We are upgrading our rooms/furniture as time and finance permits in our busy motels and hopefully next time you visit us for a stay here in Waikawa you will see even more improvements.
Kind regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Property: Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing