We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of the sounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful views of the sounds”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The warmest welcome and best customer service we've received during our time in NZ. Room was spotless with food facilities and a fantastic view of the water through sliding glass doors. A 10 minute drive from picton, this was the perfect base for exploring the sounds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
The time spent with us in our amazing setting is so relaxing for our Guests and we have much pleasure in being able to help you enjoy your stay and we hope that one day you may be able to return Soafe and do some more exploring. The Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels wish you all the best and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    67
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
193
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It was really wonderful to arrive at 10pm after a delayed ferrybtrip, and be shown into Unit 1 by Kerrie the owner.
Even in the dark of the night you can see and sense this is a wonderful and special location. There is no mini-bar but Kerrie was happy to bring some mixers from her house and I sat on my private patio and enjoyed a few quiet drinks before bed. Kerrie had warmed the rooms before my arrival, nice touch.
Morning, and instead of an offered continental breakfast I wandered over to the marina and had eggs bacon coffee at the Jolly Rodger, right on the wharf. Also highly recommended.

Worth noting bay Vista has a courtesy shuttle to give you a lift into Picton and they can pick you up after lunch upto 7:30pm and later if Kerrie and partner are not out themselves.

Ferry tip - no taxis in Picton just the shuttle which charged me $20 for the 3km ride.

For the reign trip I'm flying SoundsAir and their shuttle will pick you up from Bay Vista for $7 to Picton airport.

Room Tip: Each room has absolute water frontage views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hi Bill- it was such a pleasure to have you here and I was amazed at all the things you were able to do in such a short time. To "hear the Serenity" describes it all, out watching the stars at night on your private patio, looking out over the water at the Marina lit up - yes, we have a wonderful place and we are so pleased your enjoyed it.
Kind regards Kerry, Lilian and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The view on the bay is fantastic. Only stayed for one night before catching the ferry which is just a short drive away. The accommodation was superb, extremely clean and very roomy for our family of 6. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Landscaped gardens were beautiful even in the winter and it was fun watching the ducks. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneW431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Our larger units are great for families where you can enjoy your walk down to the water, it was a pleasure to have you all and we hope the ferry trip went well. We thank you for your review and I know you will share your experience with family and friends. Kindest regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Staying here is like being in your own home but in our case, with a much more pleasant view. Clean cosy rooms, Great, practical kitchen which we were grateful for after two previous days of eating out. Love the feeling of not being afraid to touch anything in case you break or mark it. Can you believe they had the audacity to warm our room on a fairly cool evening prior to us arriving, I mean wassup with that?:) Stayed 2 nights but if our ferry had been delayed a couple of days, we would've been quietly pleased about it. For those of you who cant stand being away from social media, free wifi is available. Five green spots does not do this place justice and all the positve reviews on this place, we whole heartedly agree with. C'mon TripAdvsor, really, green spots???

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi Jasmine - well the weather is warming up (so we thought until a snow drop further south last week) - have just realised I missed answering your review. Magic is the word for our lovely setting here and the enjoyable part is meeting so many lovely guests. Hopefully one day you will return and have another great stay. Have a great Christmas. Kind regards
The Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We chanced on this gem whilst driving thru and are so glad we stayed a night here. The hosts were easily the friendliest and warmest couple we have met in new zealand. They even warmed out our unit before our arrival.
The accomodation was very spacious, comfortably, kitchen excellently equipped and new, with stunning views of the bay. Bathroom was particularly well suited for use by the elderly
We were so pleasantly surprised that our badly soiled car windscreen was even given a light wash in the morning. What a service! I guess the hosts just cant help being their true selves......hospitable and thoughtful kiwis!
To wake up to the magnificent bay view is value enough for the stay
Thank you for the memorable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We just Love working in our home away from home, our Guests are like family to us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with here at our very Special location on the Waterfront.
Kindest regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were looking for a unit for ourselves and young family to stay overnight in Picton. Located in Wiakawa bay which is a short drive from the Interislander, we found it a very tranquil place to stay with a world class view in the morning with the sun rising over the yachts in the bay . Spotlessly clean and modern, it was a very warm unit and was a very pleasant stay overall. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and gave us great recommendations for dinner. Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairlieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Folks - we are so pleased you enjoyed the tranquility of our very special location here at Waikawa and we look forward to your return and maybe next time an extra day to do the fantastic Mail Run.
Kind regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Wonderful waterfront full apartment with outdoor patio, full kitchen, seperate bedroom and living room a few miles away from the hustle of center Picton. Incredibly kind and knowledgable manager.We stayed 2 nights and toured Marborough Sound by Mailrun which is very worthwhile and then hiked some of the shorter trails. My husband and I loved the area so much we can see returning for a several months stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Folks - great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Mailrun is well worth the extra days stay for those who have the time. We look forward to your return.
Kind regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels in Waikawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Property: Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing