We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I found this accommodation via Trip Advisor and was thrilled when it turned out to be perfect. I needed a place to relax, but still have Internet and this was it. All the units are on ground level and vary in size. I had a studio unit with bedroom, bath, and livingroom/kitchen. The patio faces the waterfront with a large green lawn sloping down to the water. The marina is filled with sailboats. Spring flowers filled the air with their sweet aroma and the ducks waddled around looking for handouts.

The Bay Vista is located a couple of kilometers from town center, so a car is useful, although you can easily walk to local restaurants.

The managers were the icing on the cake. Absolutely delightful, helpful, friendly and quite amusing.

I highly recommend this motel. It will be one of your all time favorite memories.

Room Tip: Be sure to indicate if you need Internet or not, as not all rooms have it. There are units a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAntarctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thankyou for your great review Elaine - it was just amazing to see you doing so much and filling in your days as there is so much to do in the area and then to see you at the Spinnaker Restaurant which is just a short stroll from our lovely waterfront location - it was a real pleasure having you and who knows, one day you may come back. Kindest regards from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    67
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
193
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent three nights in a 1-BR unit with a great view of the bay. When we arrived, the staff helped us book a sea kayaking trip for the following day by personally calling the tour operator for us. The room was very comfortable and the size allowed us to spread out, wash and dry all of our clothes (in the guest laundry), and reorganize our bags. The guest laundry was supposed to be open until 8:00 PM, but the staff let the door open for us to finish our wash because we got a late start. There was a clothesline available, which we used to finish drying some items. Although there was an excellent choice of restaurants nearby, we opted to stay in and make our own dinners. The kitchen had everything we needed, including a small oven. From the patio we were able to watch the sailboats on the bay and see lovely sunsets over the mountains. We were pleased with the choice to stay on Waikawa Bay rather than in Picton itself; we had a rental car so we were able to drive to Picton easily, and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of Waikawa. We would stay here again if we are in the area, and recommend the Bay Vista to other visitors.

Room Tip: Don't be surprised if you arrive at low tide; the water in the bay visible from the patio recede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iolanthe-1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to put in a Review for our wonderful Bay Vista Waterfront Motels, we have an amazing setting and to be able to share it is such a pleasure and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards from the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I picked this unit for the amazing waterfront views across the bay to sailboats and mountains and the price was very reasonable.
It was within walking distance of a very nice restaurant at the Marina too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goannakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to put in a Review for our wonderful Bay Vista Waterfront Motels, we have an amazing setting and to be able to share it is such a pleasure and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards from the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived tired about 10:30pm from the very late Wellington ferry. Our hosts had been keeping watch and saw the ferry pass by en route to the dock. When we had not arrived after half an hour they called our cell to make sure we were not lost... which we were on the verge of becoming.

A warm welcome on arrival and we were show to our room. Everything was exactly as advertised; simple but comfortable, clean and fully functional. The view outside the door in the morning was super. We only stayed one night but would be happy to stay more and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Its certainly great to see the ferries go past in the late evening so we can look after you to keep in touch, as it is tiring catching the ferry and arriving late at night and not always easy for our lovely guests to think of everything, so a quick call relaxes them to know we are here for them. Thankyou for your review and we look forward to your return visit. Hopefully put on some good weather for you all. Cheers from the Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We'd booked 4 nights from the UK and were delighted that the hosts had offered to collect us from the ferry as we had no idea how far Waikawa was from Picton and we didn't want to hire a car. They offered a free journey each day into or out of Picton which was valued even if we did enjoy the walk over the 'snout' (50 minutes). Our first 2 days there the weather was terrible (storms in Auckland so not a south island thing) and one day completely written off. But there is something wonderful about watching bad weather on the outside when tucked comfortably inside. The bay was a continuous story of cloud and wave - how much better to be there than in some soulless edifice that could be anywhere in the world? On the third day, I was astonished by the beauty of the bay, overwhelmed by the beauty of a view both simple and majestic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi Ruth - we are having another very similar day today watching the boats tossing in the water and woolley walls all over the Bay - wonderful - yes, this is an amazing place to stay in all weathers and we are so pleased you both had a great time. The walking you did was amazing and we are lucky to have so many lovely walks close by to the Motels. We hope your stay with your daughter was great and fun around the wineries. Thanks for coming to stay and who knows maybe there will be another visit in years to come.
Kind regards from the Team at the Bay Vista Water Front Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The warmest welcome and best customer service we've received during our time in NZ. Room was spotless with food facilities and a fantastic view of the water through sliding glass doors. A 10 minute drive from picton, this was the perfect base for exploring the sounds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
The time spent with us in our amazing setting is so relaxing for our Guests and we have much pleasure in being able to help you enjoy your stay and we hope that one day you may be able to return Soafe and do some more exploring. The Team at Bay Vista Waterfront Motels wish you all the best and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It was really wonderful to arrive at 10pm after a delayed ferrybtrip, and be shown into Unit 1 by Kerrie the owner.
Even in the dark of the night you can see and sense this is a wonderful and special location. There is no mini-bar but Kerrie was happy to bring some mixers from her house and I sat on my private patio and enjoyed a few quiet drinks before bed. Kerrie had warmed the rooms before my arrival, nice touch.
Morning, and instead of an offered continental breakfast I wandered over to the marina and had eggs bacon coffee at the Jolly Rodger, right on the wharf. Also highly recommended.

Worth noting bay Vista has a courtesy shuttle to give you a lift into Picton and they can pick you up after lunch upto 7:30pm and later if Kerrie and partner are not out themselves.

Ferry tip - no taxis in Picton just the shuttle which charged me $20 for the 3km ride.

For the reign trip I'm flying SoundsAir and their shuttle will pick you up from Bay Vista for $7 to Picton airport.

Room Tip: Each room has absolute water frontage views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hi Bill- it was such a pleasure to have you here and I was amazed at all the things you were able to do in such a short time. To "hear the Serenity" describes it all, out watching the stars at night on your private patio, looking out over the water at the Marina lit up - yes, we have a wonderful place and we are so pleased your enjoyed it.
Kind regards Kerry, Lilian and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Property: Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing