We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quite Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
1 review
“Great Quite Location”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

What a great place. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. A quite senic town nearby is perfect for relaxing. The hosts go out of their way to help and the units are very clean and fresh. The location has plenty of room and being located on the waterfront has views of the Bay.

  • Liked — Very clean and fresh
  • Disliked — Nothing negative
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonSharp_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    67
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
192
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2008

My husband and I booked out the entire complex for a weekend and we had a celebration of our wedding. It was great to have everyone in the one place for the weekend. We were able to get up in the mornings and all sit around on our balconeys and watch the sun come up over the water. The staff were great, always available but never intrusive and always willing to help. The rooms were very nice and spacious. Their shuttle service was great as some guests came off the ferry from the north island. The location is just out of town and is so peaceful and the views are worth a million bucks! Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Liked — The views and the self contained facilities
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_gert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We have stayed at this establishment a number of times and it never fails to please. Once again our stay here last night was exceptional. The services offered inthis motel rival and in soem cases exceed some NZ hotels!! the bathroom is decked out with beautiful towels, shower caps, toiletries etc. The bed linen is fresh and crisp. The service always friendly and helful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and to top it all stepping out of your room onto your own front yard metres from the water. It is tranquil, relaxing and picturesque. And at only $120 per night for two fantastic value.

  • Liked — Stunning location and superb amenities
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2003

There does not appear to be a lot of good motels to pick from in Picton. The Bay Vista is a small 1-story property with 2 sections (old & new). I can only recommend the newer units, which are clean & very basic. The old units are quite dated & smell of mildew. The property is located outside of town & not within walking distance. There is a nice little bay in the backyard. Very scenic drives around Picton. Try the coastal road west to Havelock, lots of great scenery.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontPicton, manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 28 February 2009
I was not the manager at the time this reviewer visited Bay Vista Waterfront Motels, but would just like to clarify, the units are actually all the same age, but the exterior cladding is different, so I can understand how the concept of different aged units came about.
Over the last four years, all units have been completely re-decorated and equiped with the latest furnishings and fittings. We are AOL 4 star, and have qualmark applied for.
There is certainly no mildew or musty smell now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
616 reviews
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Property: Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing