We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pretty place to stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Villa Backpackers Lodge for one night over the Easter holidays in an ensuite room. The property is very pretty and colourful, our room was small and basic but had everything we needed. The hooks on the wall was a nice touch as there wasn't much floor space. The bathroom was clean. I was expecting our room to be noisy since it was over some shared bathrooms but we both slept well (and I'm a light sleeper). The bed was a little too soft but didn't impact our sleep.

The buildings sprawl around the property so there are lots of little places to sit and enjoy some peace and quiet. There is a spa outside that is open until 9pm but we didn't use it. I especially liked warming up after dinner by the pot belly stove in the middle of the courtyard.

There were two kitchens, one large and one small. As our room was closest to the smaller kitchen we used that one. It was clean and had everything we needed. The free spices including basil, oregano, salt, pepper were a bonus.

We took Millie, the hostel dog for a walk in the morning. She was a lot of fun and got us out exploring Picton in the morning.

There is an amazing bakery next door and I believe it opens fairly early.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyJane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    66
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
51
79
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Me and three friends stayed here in mid-march. The villa is a very cool set up with many different common areas that are located in different 'cottages' that are really close to one another. Its very interesting and there are multiple kitchens / bathrooms etc. There is a TV room and hot tub (we did get in trouble by removing the hot tub lid the wrong way by a cranky older guy which was the only negative!). An orange tree grows in the court yard and an awning with grape wines that I thought was very pretty. Also a hammock and tons of flowers growing everywhere! There is also a resident dog (I believe her name is Milly) that you can take for a walk. She is pretty old though, so nothing strenuous. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a night in March. We had a 4 bed dorm which worked out well and there were lots of bathrooms to use and a big kitchen. It had a nice homely atmosphere and a hot tub that you could use till 9pm. It was very close to the center of town as well. A nice clean stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We only had one night here in a double room with ensuite, the room was small as was the bathroom but everything you needed for an overnight stay, clean and comfortable and the fresh flowers on the bedside table a delightful touch. Certainly didn't find the staff rude even though they were pretty busy. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but we did utilise the lovely little table on the upstairs deck right outside our room, it was a delightful place to enjoy our brealfast.

We bought our breakfast from the wonderful bakery next door which does amazing bacon and egg rolls, fab muffins and great take out coffee, just too good to resist. So good in fact we came back here for lunch after our cruise on the Queen Charlotte Sound.

The cruise on the sound had been booked for us by the helpful staff at the Villa with there recommended cruise line Cougar.An interesting cruise lots of information about the Sounds and the islands and history but they were also delivering supplies to various hotels enroute which made it even more interesting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had 2 nights here in a twin room with a little balcony overlooking the pretty gardens, The room was not very big but comfy beds, if you want a room with a balcony you need to book well in advance as there are only 2, staff helpful and very c;lean kitchen for backpacker uses

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avoncarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hostel is well located with a short walk to the town centre and ferry port. We stayed in a double room in a complex set apart from the main hostel with a TV (no sound though), towels and hairdryer all provided. There was also some decking outside to sit and relax on. The bed had seen better days and wobbled on it's small legs and the mattress was awful. Would I stay here again? No, I would find somewhere with a better bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a small and friendly backpackers, well located in Picton, and approximately a 5 min walk to the waterfront, shops and bars. Its a quirky little place with character. The rooms were comfy, and each of the dorm beds had reading lights which was a great addition. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful, and offered great advice about things to do in the area. We ended up going on a cruise out into the Marlborough Sounds and getting dropped off at Ships Cove and doing a section of the Queen Charlotte track on their advice which was great! They even saved some apple crumble for us as they knew we'd be back later than it was usually available!! They also have a hot tub which is available for use until 10pm, so great after a long walk, or just to relax in!
This hostel is really welcoming and homely, and the team who run it really seem like one big family. They even have a dog that you can walk for those travellers who are missing having animals around! I would highly recommend staying here if you are staying a few nights in Picton.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.5 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Address: 34 Auckland Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Villa Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Backpackers Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing