We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel in nz!!!!!!:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
Reviewed 27 November 2012

stayed here three days and absolutely loved everything about it!!! fantastic,friendly, helpful staff, they do everything for u and even moreeeeeee!:) d girl at d reception even lent me her backpack for my queen charlotte track!!! absolutly awesome!!! and they serve an amazing apple crumble with two choices of ice cream every day!!!! the whole place feels like home, great atmosphere, beautiful place and d wonderful staff that makes it all worthwile!!! ou and there is a lovely garden with a cool hot tube and hammock on the terrace!!! if u ever go to Picton u just have to stay hereeeeee!!!!!!! best hostel in NZ!!! Diane from Hungary:)

Room Tip: all d rooms r absolutely awesome with loads of space and light and sunshineeeeeeeee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oszierdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

This place is fantastic- the free apple crumble is awesome, it's a lovely chilled out place to stay- highly recommended! The staff were very helpful and friendly when I booked the Queen Charlotte track- there very knowledgeable about all activities in the area. It's a great place to spend a few extra days if you have the time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a gorgeous little cottage - just as pretty as Picton itself. Friendly helpful staff, hot spa pool, outdoor fire place, very clean and usable kitchen, free pool table, bikes, cubby house, book exchange etc... Would definitely stay here again as a base for exploring Marlborough Sounds. Oh and did I mention massive helpings of free apple crumble and ice-cream every night?!?! And free brekky? Awesome place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk8traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place was recommended to us by a girl from Te Nikau Retreat and we were not disappointed. We had a nice welcome: two big plates of delicious apple crumbles (even that we have arrived after 9pm), a help with ferry reservation and friendly and patient staff. Our double room was quite big and had a washstand and TV. The shower and toilet were quite clean, however a bit cold. The sharing area was clean but quite old, I belive that carpets and soffas should be washed or changed quite soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I love this hostel! It feels like a home...so clean and so comfortable. A free breakfast and nighttime dessert are also included. The rooms are very cosy. There are also good common areas and it was a nice place to meet people. The management is also great (and the dog!). And, the location could not be more convenient...right near the ferry dock. Thank you to the staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great backpackers. The room was awesome it was warm with a nice bed. The kitchen was good nice and big and clean. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and keen to help where ever they could. It was great value for money. they even had free desert and breakfast. Location was great only 3 min drive after coming off the ferry. Overall just a great place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sihting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The atmosphere in this hostel was great, everyone milgled and chatted openly, no "gangs" of backpackers. The spa was excellent for a relaxing night and the FREE apple crumble at 8pm was the highlight for me. The location is great if you're getting the ferry. Things are a bit dated in the rooms but they're clean and the showers are a bit poor. But if I were in Picton in the morning I'd stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 27 in Picton
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#12 of 27 in Picton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.5 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge

Address: 34 Auckland Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £14 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing