We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel, does what it needs too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hostel, does what it needs too!”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in an 8 bed dorm for one night before getting the ferry. It's a perfect location for the ferry but we didn't get the best nights sleep. The dorm had a sliding door which was very loud so you woke up every time it was opened. room was small for 8 people and there weren't enough bathrooms. Kitchen was ok, lounge area was good. We did get free apple crumble when we arrived which was yummy! The staff were lovely too. Just needs a bit of updating.

Room Tip: Try to get aprivate or a small dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernpixie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaPicton, Owner at The Villa Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
The joys of the cheapest dorm....the big dorms are the price leaders for a reason, the positive is more opportunities to meet new friends, the downside is more people coming and going.
The Summer is when every potential weakness is exposed, the hostel is busy and it is much harder to maintain the 'peace and quiet' that exists in the off season.
Glad you liked the great service from the Staff and Apple Crumble and Ice cream.

Rob
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    66
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
51
80
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Lovely clean hostel with friendly staff that show you around, well stocked kitchen and nice gardens with lots of cool little hiding places to read, even a treehouse! Lots of blankets and plugs in the rooms too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMex114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Plus
- nice service at checkin
- great garden
- Cosy house, makes you feel right at home

Min
- the bed was like a waterbed without water with springs pushing in your back
- showers were tiny
- walls are made of paper

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crasten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

stayed here three days and absolutely loved everything about it!!! fantastic,friendly, helpful staff, they do everything for u and even moreeeeeee!:) d girl at d reception even lent me her backpack for my queen charlotte track!!! absolutly awesome!!! and they serve an amazing apple crumble with two choices of ice cream every day!!!! the whole place feels like home, great atmosphere, beautiful place and d wonderful staff that makes it all worthwile!!! ou and there is a lovely garden with a cool hot tube and hammock on the terrace!!! if u ever go to Picton u just have to stay hereeeeee!!!!!!! best hostel in NZ!!! Diane from Hungary:)

Room Tip: all d rooms r absolutely awesome with loads of space and light and sunshineeeeeeeee
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oszierdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This place is fantastic- the free apple crumble is awesome, it's a lovely chilled out place to stay- highly recommended! The staff were very helpful and friendly when I booked the Queen Charlotte track- there very knowledgeable about all activities in the area. It's a great place to spend a few extra days if you have the time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a gorgeous little cottage - just as pretty as Picton itself. Friendly helpful staff, hot spa pool, outdoor fire place, very clean and usable kitchen, free pool table, bikes, cubby house, book exchange etc... Would definitely stay here again as a base for exploring Marlborough Sounds. Oh and did I mention massive helpings of free apple crumble and ice-cream every night?!?! And free brekky? Awesome place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk8traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place was recommended to us by a girl from Te Nikau Retreat and we were not disappointed. We had a nice welcome: two big plates of delicious apple crumbles (even that we have arrived after 9pm), a help with ferry reservation and friendly and patient staff. Our double room was quite big and had a washstand and TV. The shower and toilet were quite clean, however a bit cold. The sharing area was clean but quite old, I belive that carpets and soffas should be washed or changed quite soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Address: 34 Auckland Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Villa Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Backpackers Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing