We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice backpackers and free apple pie!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice backpackers and free apple pie!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Good, well equipped and clean backpackers. Kitchen is clean and has free tea coffee and spices to use.

Facilities include: 100mb free wifi a day, hot tub, pool table and sky TV lounge.

Free apple pie in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Close to highstreet.

$69 for double private with shared bathroom. TV in room. Only complaint is a little cold in the evening but heaters and hot water bottles are available for free.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    67
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
51
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

An odd assortment of buildings on a small site which means that you are always close up and personal with just about everybody. For the number of people it can accommodate, the kitchen and dining room are way too small. We had an ensuite room which was fine but the dorm rooms looked cramped. It's handily located not far from the ferry terminals and the Queen Charlotte track boats, provides a shuttle bus to them.

Fine for a night or two but no longer than that. Very popular so booking is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaumaris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luneburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Villa Backpackers Lodge is an excellent place to stay as a backpacker. It is cheap, clean, well run and the common areas are great.

We had booked a double room and we were disapointed. In our first night we had a room in front of the kitchen and were waked up by people cooking at 3h00 in the morning!

We managed to change room, an ensuite on the second floor. This was great value for the price. However, the building itself it very cheaply build. There was a wind storm during the night and my wife and I joked that we were not sure if the buildign would survive it.

Highly recommanded for backpackers, but if you have a decent budget, try to find some place else to stay in

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night as a group on our way to tramp Queen Charlotte Sound. Good kitchen, room good, but I think showers could be improved. Nice & quite which was fantastic. Easy to walk to ferry from there too. Free WiFi was good too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I met many people in NZ they told me I had to stay at the Villa if I go to Picton. Well, it's ok but not more. The rooms are clean, the hostel is nice but I don't know why but I didn't like that much. I stayed there twice and the first time our room was in the backyard with glass doors to the garden. If we hadn’t closed the curtains everybody could have watched you sleeping. That was strange. The second time we had a better room but I don’t know why but I didn’t feel very well there. I definitely prefer the Sequoia Lodge. But if you stay just for one night the Villa is ok.

Room Tip: Don't accept the glassroom to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFogg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Bright friendly and ideally situated, short walking distance to Ferry Terminal, local shops and walking tracks. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would appreciate a fresh duvet sheet though. On arrival a nice young man met me at the Ferry Terminal (Villa shuttle service) and took myself and other travelers staying at The Villa there which was extremely welcome after carrying heavy bags and arriving in a new town travel weary. Despite the bed linen cleanliness needing to be improved I would recommend this hostel to anyone backpacking in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Villa has been there a long time ago. Visited it the first time 10 years ago. Although it has expanded quite a bit since then its still a nice backpacker but its getting a bit packed. It's clean and has a well equipped kitchen with free coffee and tea (although in the past they served free apple crumble which they don't do anymore :( ). The mattress was a quite used and should have been replaced a while ago.

They give you 100 MB free Wifi - good, but I think these days every backpacker should have free unlimited Wifi like in Asia (if backpackers in countries like Laos can do it then it should definitely be possible in NZ).

Anyway, all in all I can recommend the Villa. You will like it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Address: 34 Auckland Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Villa Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Backpackers Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing