We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
columbia, maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bright and beautiful”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We are retired Americans in our 60s and this was our first backpackers experience. We loved it! A van met us at the ferry and the desk staff were extremely helpful. We had reserved a private ensuite in advance. It was very clean, functional and even had fresh flowers in the room. The Villa is an old, gracious house that has been tastefully restored for the current purpose. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is an inviting, verdant courtyard where you can read, hang out or socialize.

Good location. You can easily walk everywhere in town. Staff helped arrange tours and bus pick ups. Cheerful kitchen, internet access and laundry facilities.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    66
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
50
79
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The write up for thus place left me expecting a little more than I saw when I arrived. The staff were friendly, it has a nice garden area at the back, good kitchen and living room area but it felt a little old and rough round the edges. There seemed to be a but of a lack of bathrooms too.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snibbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My partner and I stayed a night in the Double room.
First impressions of reception were kind of shocking. We arrived in the middle of another customer complaining to the reception staff about worms in the water at treetop!? Not the best start.

The decor was a bit repulsive with a small hand basin beside the bed, dark carpet and the bed coverings weren't reassuring in cleanliness as they were dark and patterened. I like my accommodation covers to either be plain and/or to be light in colour. It assures me that they are clean and relatively new.

Also, the walls are thin and there is a lot of movement around at night. So best to take your earplugs with you as we did.

As far as good points go, I would probably say that the best part of the Villa was the Bakery next door to it. Yum

For $65 a night and compared to backpackers lodges I've stayed at for the same price, this place is not value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krillinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaPicton, Owner at The Villa Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
It is always good to have someone take the time to review your property...and even better if you can have the chance to respond if there may be a negative element.

The Villa is a grand old character home, over a 100 years old with a personality all of its own, not a brand new, homogenised accommodation facility with no soul. In the peak of the Summer season, packed to the rafters it can be busy and obviously the decor may not be to everyone's taste but is all colour co ordinated ...the sheets are even light coloured.

As far as 'worms in the water at treetops' goes, Treetops is another Backpacker on the Queen Charlotte Track, many kilometres away, the reviewer must have come into a conversation about the persons walking trip. It is hardly fair to blame us for something completely unrelated to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We used The Villa Backpackers as our base to walk the Queen Charlotte Track in the beautiful Marlbourough Sounds. We stayed here on the day prior to heading for the QC Track, and returned to stay another night on our return. As is the case for most accommodation in Picton, The Villa was more than happy to store our extra bags/luggage until our expected return.

Check-in formalities were friendly, and we were directed to our room in this charming character villa using an well drawn out map of the grounds. We were invited to use the heated spa pool in the outdoor communal area, and pleaded to not miss out on the complementary Apple Crumble served in the main dining room each night at 8pm.

The Crumble and ice cream were delicious, and an excellent way to bring out the travellers from their hiding places and encourage interaction between guests.

Beds were sufficiently clean, as were the kitchen and bathroom facilities.

We had an restful night's sleep before heading off early the following morning. As we were leaving before reception opened, we were told to leave our bags for storage in the room and these would then be relocated.

In the winter months The Villa provides free breakfast, which consisted (for us) of loaves of bread, butter, and jams. No complaints here - it was a no-nonsense breakfast which filled the hunger gaps and saved us the trouble of packing additional food for breakfast. This was yet another nice bonus touch.

On our return, our bags were safely retrieved, and we had another enjoyable night at The Villa, again enjoying the free Crumble and breakfast the following morning. All in all an excellent experience and we would highly recommend this hostel to any travellers to Picton.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

The Villa is in a pretty enough couple of buildings, but we were disappointed with our room. We stayed for two nights at the end of November, in a double room in one of the adjoining buildings. The room itself was fine, and was handily next door to the bathroom and just over the way from one of the kitchens. However, it was perhaps too near the bathroom, as a large area of the carpet by the door (a couple of square foot) was sodden (according to the owner because the bathroom had recently flooded). We didn't notice at first as we literally dumped our bags on check in and headed out for the whole day and evening. It was only when we went to bed late that evening that we realised how damp it was, and how strong the musty smell was.

To give the staff and owner their dues though, as soon as we mentioned it the next morning they came to the room straight away armed with towels, fan heaters and air freshener. By the time we came back from a days hiking on the Queen Charlotte Track, the room was dry and smell-free!

The staff on reception were also very helpful in sorting out a couple of trips for us - a days hiking on the QCT is definitely recommended, as is hiking out to Snout Point. Picton itself is a pleasant little town, but things tend to wind up early. We were the only people in one of the locals at 8.30 one evening, and it didn't look like the staff were expecting anyone else through the door!

Picton wasn't originally on our itinerary, but we so glad we found the time to make it there, we had a great couple of days. Oh, and The Villa is located next door to a fantastic bakery - good for snacks to take on a days hiking!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The villa is a backpackers with a lot of character. It does get a little crowded in peak season.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Travelling from Wellington to the South Island on the ferry you arrive at Picton first and we decided to stop over. The Villa which picks you up from the ferry terminal was the chosen destination. Its quiet but with nice extras such as an outdoor spa pool and a tv in every room. Sky TV was also available in the tv room. The kitchens were spotless and adequately stocked and all in all it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.5 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Address: 34 Auckland Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Villa Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Backpackers Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing