We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Aldan Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldan Lodge Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We arrived 11pm and as we had phoned ahead we knew what room number our room was. Didn't take long to find it on arrival and we had plenty of space to park our car and trailer too which was a bonus when arriving late at night. The heater was on so we had a warm room on arrival and the lights on made it easy to find the room. It is these little things that make a difference. We had a room with a disability shower and the water pressure wasn't great but overall the facilities, cleanliness etc of the unit was very good. We left Picton on the 8am ferry so it was a very short stay. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Aldan Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Used this hotel for one night after travelling on ferry to South Island. For some reason we were allocated a room for the disabled but we're not complaining - no stairs to climb with suitcases, car parking very close to room and a large, wet room type shower. A very comfortable bed and a more than adequate continental breakfast at a reasonable extra cost. Free internet access, although this may not be the case in high season when more guests would be looking to log on. Proprietors were very helpful. Close walking distance to supermarket, pubs and restaurants local attractions and of course the Interislander Ferry. An ideal stopover to and from South Island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed before & after the Queen Charlotte Walk & it worked very well. The rooms were adequate.Our only negative comment would be in the family room. The shower recess floor over the spa was uneven so very difficult to stand on. Quite dangerous for an elderly person.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The motel is just over the road from the supermarket which is handy as the kitchen is well equipped. It is very clean and the hosts are most welcoming. Email facilities are welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was really a perfect no-hassle-easy-going stop over stay. People were extremely friendly, we could check out late and got a beer instead of the obligatory milk on request. what more does one want for a short stay.
room were comfortable and everything in walking distance.
Very good value in addition!
Very recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A lovely motel, nicely decorated and very convenient - just one street back from the main street and 10-15 minutes walk to the waterfront and ferry terminal. Parking right outside your door. Pleasant and helpful owners. The room is not large but more than adequate with a small kitchenette, table and chairs and nice ensuite. Spotlessly clean and would definitely stay there again. It's also opposite a small shopping mall with supermarket, an excellent cafe, chemist, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyBell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great location for exploring the sounds and Marlborough area. It's easy walking distance to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and bars. The service was outstanding and the owners were more than helpful in arranging wine tours, boating tours and other activities. Our room was recently renovated, modern, and exceptionally clean with full kitchen facilities. We would definitely stay at the Aldan Lodge Motel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23EagleRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldanlodge, Owner at Aldan Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thrilled you enjoyed our hospitality, we look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.
Cheers
Heather & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldan Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldan Lodge Motel

Address: 86 Wellington Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#7 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldan Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greg & Jacquelene invite you to enjoy the comforts of Aldan Lodge. Only a short walk to the main town centre and water front. Plenty of off street parking. Quiet location. We aim to provide the Home away from home feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aldan Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldan Lodge Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing