We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent arrangement for those on the night ferry from Wellington!”
Review of Marlin Motel

Marlin Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlin Motel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent arrangement for those on the night ferry from Wellington!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The first impressions of this motel were very good indeed. We had come off the Wellington ferry at about 1 am to very gratefully find this motel very near to the terminal. Secondly we were quite stressed that may be the owners would be in bed and therefore we would not have any way of checking in. No worries there! On the reception door was a big notice with ever late arrival's room number. The doors were already unlocked and the key easy available. Such a relief. We only stayed over night and was very happy just to arrive. the room was average for a motel. Well stock kitchen. My mate wasn't liking the occasional wildlife (my mate's first view of a southern hemisphere cockroach) in the bedroom. Having travelled in the outback before - to me I wasn't bothered! If you are on the late ferry - email the motel and tell them.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiebar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had been staying at a bach in the Marlborough Sound, and the weather turned nasty, so we cut our stay short there and had to find somewhere to stay in PIcton. This was it. A nice surprise., The rooms had a very 70s feel to them - not necessarily to everyone's taste - but the unit was nice and big, with two separate bedrooms, and a a proper living room. The toiletries provided were excellent, and in proper-sized bottles. Host was very friendly, and showed us a place on site to wash our boat down. Outdoor furniture was also supplied, and we had a very pleasant dinner with another family in the garden. There is guest laundry on site, but the one negative we found was the $10 to use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed at Marlin Motel for one night on the way south. It was average and i thought a little expensive for what it was. The unit was ok but could do with a bit of a make over.
I was arriving late so the owner left the unit unlocked for me which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1811027Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Let me start by saying that I have worked in Hotels and lived in Hotels for over 21 years now. So I have a rough Idea what Motels/Hotels in New Zealand and around the world look like.
This hotel was the first one out of six in the South Island on our anual Motorbike tour.It was with $NZ186.00 for two the most expensive one. Location was handy, Organic tea , soap and TV good.But that's where it all comes to a screeching hold. First the ceiling in unit 15 has asbestos locking cover. I was very concerned as I had it all removed in my place 16 years ago. The furniture is just really bad ,old and should have been replaced twenty years ago. I stripped my bed in the morning to see how old the mattress is.The dirty Mattress cover was from 1990!!!! It was no surprise that I had next day major back problems.Sleeping in a bed like a banana does not help, no back support at all. I felt the springs all night long.The shower is at least 20 years old as well. Once again I replaced one of these showers in my house 15 years ago , because it was worn out. In the living room/kitchen/2nd bedroom you got one wall totally covered in Carpet???!!!
The kitchen is not worth to talk about it. It's old and worn out.
The curtains in this unit are shocking.
I could get on about the sink, heating, general cleanliness,microwave you name it.
This place makes money by having a very good location. It needs some serious overhaul.
This concept of saving money and hoping we get away with it for another year will not work.Management read the signs and do something about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed in a studio apartment which was quite a small room (compared with our three weeks stays elsewhere). Bad stuff first - furniture and room was quite dated - not something I mind as sometimes retro can be quite charming but this place was a little tired. Some nice touches were the organic soaps and very cosy towels (to management: yes we notice these small things thank you!). The price though should have been 10-20 less than the $120 we paid. Another good thing was the helpfulness of our host - good recommendations for meals and things to see. We would probably stay somewhere else next time...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We drove in, without reservations because we were taking the ferry in the morning. The host was so friendly, the room was large, equipped with kitchen facilities, DVD player and clean bathroom. The owner had a selection of DVD's that we could borrow for free. He also made a great recommendation for a Thai Restaurant that was within walking distance and delicious.

The location was great, easy access from the highway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunky022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here just for 1 night, before taking the ferry to cross from the South Island to the Norh Island.
Picton is quite small (I imagined it would be bigger because of its harbour) and so it is in general a quite and laid back place. This motel is not an exception because it was also quite and laid back. I don't remember it to be as modern and renovated as other places we had been but the overall impression was positive and satisfactory. The unit we had had all necessary to have a good stay, and the owners were also nice, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, no issues at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Motel

Property: Marlin Motel
Address: 33 Devon Street, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing