We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, free wi-fi that works”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I have been travelling for over 4 months (Australia and New Zealand) and you won't believe just how rare it is for a hostel to provide both free wi-fi, and wi-fi that actually works and is good enough to stream YouTube (for example). Well, the Sequoia Lodge has it.

Nicely located close to town (and yet still relatively quiet) and also close to the lovely approx 1.5hr Tirohanga Track walk which provides great views over town and the Marlborough Sounds.

The 4-bed dorm I was in was comfy and spacious enough for 4 people. The communal areas were clean and practical. All in all, a charming and quaint hostel.

Free shuttle to/from the ferry and free hostel shuttles are also few and far between in New Zealand.

Nice one Sequoia Lodge, really enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Sequoia Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

hostel was full during our stay, and I can see why. quaint and quirky hostel - we loved it. chocolate pudding and ice cream went down a treat every night at 8pm. the spa pool was nice and my children enjoyed the hammocks and playing chess on the giant outdoor chess board.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Not happy at 6am when I want a hot shower before catching the ferry and the shower has only skin burning hot water for 2 minutes then continuous freezing cold. I specifically paid for an ensuite room so I could have my own bathroom but it appears it was a total waste of money. There is free WiFi which would be better if the signal reached the pirate rooms. So I couldn't even use that facility.
for only a few dollars more I could've stayed in a much more luxurious place where the shower would've worked properly and the beds would've been comfortable.
I Will be looking elsewhere on my next trip through Picton, but if your easily bribed with free chocolate pudding you probably won't mind staying here

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SequoiaLodge, Manager at Sequoia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that your shower didn't work and we can understand your frustration especially at 6 am in the morning outside of office hours. We would have appreciated it if you had contacted us directly to let us know which room you had the problem with, as we could fix the problem quickly and efficiently so future guests wouldn't have the same problem.

Our free unlimited WIFi is available in all our communal rooms where we have lots of plugs and offer adapters for devices. All of our communal areas are open 24 hrs a day.

If you do decide to stay with us again I am sure you will find us accommodating and very helpful.

Thanks again for your Feedback it will help us to improve for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've actually stayed here twice, the first time it was amazing. We were just out side of the busy season and the place felt just like home, the woman who runs the place with her husband was incredibly friendly and very helpful.
The room I stayed in was clean, cosy and I liked how each bed had it's own shelf and bedside light - after staying in quite a few hostels these are a big plus! There's also extra blankets and hot water bottles if you want it. The other great plus is there's free chocolate pudding each night which is yummy!
The second stay was in the middle of high season and everything was just as lovely but it was much busier and so not quite so homey, however even with the place packed it was a great hostel.

There's also a TV room, free internet (which works great when it's not busy but is very slow when everyone is trying to access it) as well as a hot tub and some hammocks.

All in all if you're in picton it's a great place to choose and I would definitely stay again if I find myself in Picton again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Awesome hostel! Stayed here a few times with our hiking groups before heading to Abel Tasman. Great spot and excellent value with the chocolate pudding gathering every evening. Friendly staff and well designed/stocked kitchen. Stay here if traveling through Picton!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We showed up a little later than expected, but the were very accommodating. Get there early and make use of the hot tub...it gets reserved quickly. Free wifi, and great accommodations. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Service is friendly and very helpful. When I asked them about local boat Marlborough Sounds tours, they recommended the Dolphin Cruise and Bird Sanctuary Tour (book here a week in advance for a discount: http://www.bookme.co.nz/bookings/abel-tasman-nelson-picton/activity/picton-dolphin-cruise-bird-sanctuary/834), and it was great! Place is clean, quiet (but busy and lively enough around dinnertime to visit with people. You get free access to unlimited wifi, hot tub, chocolate pudding (like American chocolate cake with icing) at 8pm every night. They have an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer you can borrow as well. Free towels available if you ask for them. Linens included. Woke up a couple times due to traffic on main road outside, but not too bad. A ten-minute walk to town. Stayed here two nights in a private room (shared bathrooms). I'd highly recommend it (and the cruise!).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.7 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £27 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing