We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and quiet”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2010

It was a lot quieter smaller and more homely than the larger ones elsewhere in NZ. Nice warm choc pudding and icecream in the evenings was yummy and free. My dorm room had 6 beds and an ensuite which was nice. Staff were friendly and they had a pick up /drop off service which was handy since its a good walk to get there. they also had hot water bottles and plenty of doonas for us cold frogs haha. Actually was able to sleep in this hostel without any doof doof music.
Bad things: no locks on the dorm doors and no lockers so didnt feel my stuff was all that secure. Internet was very expensive and only one computer. Laundry was a bit exy, but you get that with all hostels I guess.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

When the lady at isite booked us in we went not knowing what to expect. On arrival we were greeted warmly and given our key. The room was clean. We were so hanging out for the chocolate pudding. We met so many different people whilst there and because of the set up you can't help but say hello.
The freedom of the place was really impressive and everyone there looked happy. Thank you for responding to our feedback.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessedlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I just fell in love with Sequoia. It's like a home. There is a kitchen where you can keep food and cook to your heart's content. It is in Picton which is a quiet town, but it was perfect for what I was looking for. There are hot water bottles and extra blankets you can use when you go to bed. It was just the homiest place and I loved it! I actually changed my plans for the end of my trip just so I could go back and stay for a couple more nights. Would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauranils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Everything about Sequoia Lodge was inviting and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The beds were comfy (the bunks didn't creak in the dorms) and there were free hot water bottles to use. The free breakfast, free internet and free chocolate pudding were the things that really made this hostel stand out from others in the same price range. There is even a Facebook page dedicated to the pudding! Definitely a worthwhile place to stay. If we are ever back in Picton we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_mel_iorate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The hot, chocolate pudding and ice cream in the evenings is a very nice treat. Much appreciated, and serves to gather all guests together. The manager kindly booked a water taxi for our walk on the Queen Charlotte Track. The walls are a bit thin between the queen rooms, and there was no hanging closet, just two hooks. Busy hostel, nice staff.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed one night at the Sequoia Lodge as we came in on water taxi between lodges on the Queen Charlotte Track. We are senior travelers and had an ensuite room. We stored our big backpacks at the iSite so only had small overnight packs for the walk to the Lodge. It isn't far and worth it to get out of the hustle of the harbor area. Lynsey welcomed us and was fantastic about answering questions. My husband could hardly wait for the chocolate pudding and was not disappointed. We ate at the pub across the park, Black Crow I think and it was very reasonable in cost and tasty. Be sure to check out the Swedish Bakery--the best!
The Lodge was packed when we were there but noise was well controlled. As is typical in Kiwi backpackers, the kitchen was busy but most folks cleaned up after themselves. Our room was quiet until some folks checked in about 10:30 but they settled down after a while. The free internet was a great asset.
We'd stay again and recommend it to anyone wanting reasonably priced, clean lodging in Picton.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionateRetirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Good value hostel, well-managed and clean. Free chocolate pudding is excellent, although kitchen can get a little crowded when hostel is busy. It's not far from town - 500m at most, so don't let the location put you off as the welcome is friendly , there's a lovely park in front of the hostel and, well, there's not much in Picton town as it is! Rooms are basic, though for this price you'll be hard pressed to find anything more luxurious.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotspur91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#4 of 27 in Picton
340 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#12 of 27 in Picton
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing