We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stopover”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Stopover”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed here for one night prior to taking the ferry across to Wellington. We had met one of the Co-Managers during a previous stopover at the excellent Birdsong Lodge in Hokitika and so we decided to try the place out. We stayed in an ensuite family room separate from the main building and the room was comfortable, clean and well presented.

The kitchen and dining facilities were clean and well presented, and the theatre room with the flat screen TV was a bonus for the kids.

The extra inclusions were very good, from the free chokky pudding, to wifi, and breakfast making Sequioa a perfect stopover if catching the Cook Strait Ferry. The staff were attentive and helpful, and ensured that the mix of age groups and backgrounds of the guests blended well together. The Hot tub was also v.enjoyable.

Overall an excellent base for exploring the Picton region.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equinox411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    54
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
59
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Came here after staying at their other hostel in Nelson (Tasman Bay), which had a nice winter deal on offer. The rooms here were smaller and the kitchen did get crowded, but it was still a really chilled out place. The free chocolate pudding, breakfast, and wifi made it an exceptional value, getting it for $21 (after a $4 discount for also staying at Tasman Bay).

Having also stayed at Tombstone Backpackers and Bayview Backpackers in Picton, I must say that Picton has no shortage of excellent hostels. Tombstone gets my vote for being the best due to its newer, flasher facilities and its location & harbour view, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Sequoia Lodge again as an alternative option.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I ended up staying several extra days, it being such a great hostel. The staff was very friendly, there's a huge and clean kitchen, hot tub, free pudding and ice cream at night...it's a perfect combination for an unforgettable stay and meeting travellers! Allowed me to discover the charm of Picton, don't pass through too quickly. It's a little walk from the pubs (Irish Pub has quite the charm by the way!!!), but well worth the walk. I've been travelling for almost a year, and it's without a doubt one of my favourite hostels.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCanadaQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2010

It was a lot quieter smaller and more homely than the larger ones elsewhere in NZ. Nice warm choc pudding and icecream in the evenings was yummy and free. My dorm room had 6 beds and an ensuite which was nice. Staff were friendly and they had a pick up /drop off service which was handy since its a good walk to get there. they also had hot water bottles and plenty of doonas for us cold frogs haha. Actually was able to sleep in this hostel without any doof doof music.
Bad things: no locks on the dorm doors and no lockers so didnt feel my stuff was all that secure. Internet was very expensive and only one computer. Laundry was a bit exy, but you get that with all hostels I guess.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

When the lady at isite booked us in we went not knowing what to expect. On arrival we were greeted warmly and given our key. The room was clean. We were so hanging out for the chocolate pudding. We met so many different people whilst there and because of the set up you can't help but say hello.
The freedom of the place was really impressive and everyone there looked happy. Thank you for responding to our feedback.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I just fell in love with Sequoia. It's like a home. There is a kitchen where you can keep food and cook to your heart's content. It is in Picton which is a quiet town, but it was perfect for what I was looking for. There are hot water bottles and extra blankets you can use when you go to bed. It was just the homiest place and I loved it! I actually changed my plans for the end of my trip just so I could go back and stay for a couple more nights. Would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauranils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Everything about Sequoia Lodge was inviting and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The beds were comfy (the bunks didn't creak in the dorms) and there were free hot water bottles to use. The free breakfast, free internet and free chocolate pudding were the things that really made this hostel stand out from others in the same price range. There is even a Facebook page dedicated to the pudding! Definitely a worthwhile place to stay. If we are ever back in Picton we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_mel_iorate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.7 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Property: Sequoia Lodge
Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Lodge Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing