We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - the best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I rarely stay in B&B. This time I was so happy I did. Excellent experience, great location , very nice, new house..what was most important,-hosts were just so pleasant, welcoming.. We arrived late, our hosts were waiting for us.. Offered tea, glass of wine.. It was like a heaven after long journey .
Breakfast outstanding, we had a chat with Janet and other guests...
I would definitely recommend ... "The Place" to stay in Picton;)))

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello Michaela. Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure having you here. I do hope the Thar were out and about and ready for you both!! Wishing you safe travelling and I am sure we will meet again.
kind regards to you both, Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

*great hosts - Ian & Janet with a glass of wine, cup of tea/coffee etc to make you feel welcome.
*Janet gave us lots of travel tips
*easy walk to town
*delicious breakfast
*all round excellent b&b
*met lots of other travelers & swapped stories over a glass of wine
*stayed 7 days, enjoying the walks especially the Queen Charlotte track, wineries & aircraft museum at Blenheim & especially the Belgian bakery in Picton (great bagels, sausage rolls & desserts!)

Room Tip: Back room has own shower etc, own private side entrance & access to the back decking
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Grace and Steve, thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you stay with with us and gosh it was so quiet in our evenings for a few days. We look forward to having you hear again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Wonderful bed and tasty breakfast. New owners Janet and Ian going the extra bit to make you welcome.
Had a peep at room 1, looked like total bliss also room 3 was pretty good tho not as private as the window looked out to driveway. We has room 2 (Arcadia Suite) and booked knowing the loo and shower were separate rooms across the passageway for room 2 occupants only, another person did make use of these rooms which was a turn off tho maybe this was a rare thing as most guests would not be so rude. Would we go back......definitely if room 1 or 3 was available

Room Tip: Room 1 without a doubt
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hello Chris thank you for taking the time to do a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your trip went well.
kind regards Ian & Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our first stay in a B&B and we were very impressed. Ian and Janet greeted us warmly when we arrived and then we had a lovely chat over a glass of wine and beer, also meeting the other guests. The location is an easy five minute walk to the centre of Picton with a lovely view of the surrounding area. Very clean and comfortable, and while our toilet and bathroom were separate to our room, we were provided with bathrobes for the middle of the night and advised that we would be the only ones using these facilities. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. Terrific value. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: You will need to take your own flannels and soap, shampoo and conditioner are provided.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to do this lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both.
We hope the rest of your weekend was wonderful and you both enjoyed the delights of the blenheim wineries. kind regards Janet and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at Anchor Down for 3 nights, including New Year's Eve. Ian and Janet are great, very friendly hosts and we were delighted to be invited to their New Year's Eve BBQ with other guests and friends. It felt as if we had all known each other for years! Great food, excellent wine and terrific company. Afterwards we all wandered down to the wharf to see the New Year in and watch the fireworks. With a comfortable room and good en suite we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfasts, too, were excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hello Tom. Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure spending time with you and Pam and I do hope if you travel this way again that we see you. We, too, thoroughly enjoyed your company and New Years Eve was the icing on the cake.
kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at Anchor Down in early December 2013 on a long trip to Oz and NZ. It was probably the friendliest place I stayed which is saying a lot considering how friendly NZ is. Janet and Ian made us super-welcome, we had a spacious, well equipped room each and used the outdoor garden space too. Good sleeps and epic breakfasts. Free wifi was an extra bonus. Definitely the B&B for you in Picton and environs! wish I was back there instead of in wintry dark Edinburgh, Scotland again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineH157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hello and thank you very much for your fabulous review. We really enjoyed spending time with you while you were here and hope we have the opportunity to meet again. Stay warm.
kindest regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at Anchor Down B&B over the new year period and thoroughly enjoyed my time spent there. My room was spacious, very tidy with new furniture, a comfortable bed and en suite. Ian & Janet were great hosts and I was taken aback to be invited to a BBQ with them both and other guests on new years eve. Thanks for the amazing meal, nice wine and great company. I would highly recommend Anchor Down if you are ever staying in Picton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We do hope we see you back at Anchor Down sometime soon. A Happy 2014 to you. kind regards Janet and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.3 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 16 in Picton
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15a Otago Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £64 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast is a modern home with three separate accommodation options. All rooms are on the downstairs level making for a cooler accommodation option in our warm summers. 1 Queen room with en-suite 1 King room that can convert to 2 singles with en-suite. 1 Large room with a King bed, that can be converted to 2 singles with a private external to room bathroom. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Picton waterfront and lovely cafes. A 10 minute walk and you are at the Picton Ferry Terminal. We offer a free pick up and drop off service to the Ferry between the hours of 8am and 8pm.We have free Wi-Fi, off street parking and offer a continental and cooked breakfast. Picton is a great place to start exploring the Marlborough region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing