We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”

Portage Hotel and resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Picton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Pretty average”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at The Portage when walking the Queen Charlotte Track and stayed in a Kowhai room. The room had a great view and had been renovated (not sure about the giant diamante buttons in the head board!) and was fine. The Porter who picked us up and took our bags was great, but the rest of the staff were clearly new and didn't really know much about the facility, the walk, etc. Food was fine although price of alcohol on the high side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    20
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't believe everything you read”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Having managed luxury properties myself I was keen to spend a weekend with my wife at The Portage and am I glad I did.
I read with interest comments around small and unwelcoming rooms but knowing that these comments are often subjective - we spent 2 wonderful nights at the Portage. We stayed in the Kowhai Rooms which boasted stunning views out across the bay - in fact every room in the complex boasts such views! The rooms were lovely and clean - basic, but with all the necessities as well as a private deck. The bed was comfortable and housekeeping maintained the room in perfect order.
The restaurant served outstanding meals - albeit expensive, however they did not disappoint in terms of quality. One comment was the menu had 5 main choices - 2 pasta, 1 beef, 1 lamb and a fish. Would have liked to have seen chicken on the menu somewhere.
We had the most outstanding experience with our FOH host - David. What a gem. Very knowledgable on local activities and service skills second to none. Can't speak more highly of this guy. Well done David!
The setting is peaceful and the environment intoxicating. My only criticism is that the grounds could do with some serious attention - but given we are coming out of low season - I am sure this will be addressed for the Summer.
Well done team - you have a wonderful property and we had a magnificent stay.

Helpful?
Thank GDS9664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views and great service”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week while doing to Queen Charlotte walk. After 15 miles, having a drink on the porch looking out into the bay was so wonderful we did not want to move. Our room was hillside and gave us opportunity for more views. The rooms were fine and bed was comfortable.
We very much enjoyed the food, the green lipped mussels and other local fish our great.
We appreciated the great service at the front desk and in the restaurant areas. The service was efficient and the staff was very friendly.
It gets busy in late afternoon as walkers and mountain bikers finish their day's activity. Everyone wants to enjoy the bar/patio and have a drink and a rest. Even when this busy the staff is quite attentive.
Would definitely recommend it as a place to stay

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallytclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Large hotel for the location”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After walking for three days on the Queen Charlotte track, it is a bit odd to come across this large conference-style hotel run by the international Peppers group. It's pretty well equipped, the rooms comfortable if a little dark. The balcony had lovely views - though you couldn't see them if you sat down and there was an oversupply of cobwebs.

The reception area was quite grand, and the restaurant pretty sophisticated for where the hotel is - maybe too sophisticated! We'd possibly have been happier with a burger and chips, though something closer to this was available in the bar. Being cool weather, we didn't use the pool or the beach, though as a base for kayaking it was excellent - our MSAC guide cooked us fresh mussels pulled off the ropes on a beach across the other side of Kenepuru Sound.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onthemoveagain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for one night, the weather was poor and if it had been better we may have considered staying one more night. However, the service at the hotel made us decide to leave after only one night. We were given a room upgrade when we checked in, but to be honest, the standard of the motel rooms in New Zealand is so good that a hotel has to be extra special to compete, and this was not. No heating in the bathroom, not enough sockets available in the room and unbelievably, no free wifi. This is 2013, it is no longer something you expect to pay for, motels realise this and act accordingly. The light was not working on the walkway to our room, making it impossible to find our own door after dark. Juanita did help with this, as she helped with everything, she seemed to be the only staff member available for most of our stay. Bar bill was extortionate, 14 NZD for a glass of Wither Hills beats the price anywhere else in the Southern Hemisphere!
To sum up, sort out staffing levels, put in free wifi and take care of the small things and maybe the place will be worth visiting, the location is unbeatable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diandcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portage Hotel and resort also viewed

Marlborough Region, South Island
Marlborough Region, South Island
 
Lochmara Bay, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Portage Hotel and resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing