We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A panoramic view of the harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“A panoramic view of the harbor”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This inn was delightful and located for walking about town. We were able to shop for groceries, find a reataurant and enjoy the delightful residents we met along the street. Comfortable room, and views from all windows. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. She gave us tips and directions for the places we wanted to see. She also was helpful with the loan of a plug for my computer.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the harbor from both sliding windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    117
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
143
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Picton is one of the greatest places - no one seems to know about it. The stores are great finds, the Harbour is great and the hotels are great. We stayed at the Beachcomber Inn and the rooms were fantastic. We had a meal in the Restaurant "Whalers" and that was great as well. The only sad part was that we could not stay longer. Would highly recommend the Beachcomber as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were booked in for one night after we travelled from Wellington on the ferry. We were booked in across the road in another motel but they over booked and moved us over to the Beachcomber. lt was a blessing in disguise, while the room was being cleaned the receptionist took good care of us. The hotel as well as the room were clean and had a better view of the harbour than our other motel.Nice airy balcony on a summers night overlooking the harbour is just what the doctor ordered.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The Beachcomber Inn is a 32-bedroom hotel situated very conveniently close to the centre of Picton, with most rooms having excellent views over the harbour. There’s a restaurant on the third floor (second floor in UK terms), attractive gardens with a seating area at the back of Reception, and a small pool for the warmer days. It’s five minutes’ walk or less to shops, restaurants and supermarkets. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four nights in February, 2011, using Picton as a base for touring the north of the South Island.
The rooms differ in configuration, but most seem to have a queen size bed plus either one or two singles or a second double bed. Ours (no 203) had a queen size and a single, plus two comfortable armchairs and a working surface and chair. The room was spacious and comfortable, with adequate hanging and drawer space. The balcony was spacious, with two chairs (but no table or light), and a glorious view over the harbour. Avoid the road-facing rooms if you’re allergic to traffic noise. We had a fridge which doubled as a minibar (but check the prices – a little expensive), and we noticed some rooms had a microwave. The bathroom was small but had a bath with a shower over, and the washbasin was outside in the room (strange, but no problem). There was an iron, hairdryer, kettle, and ample tea and coffee making facilities. One tip – buy your alcohol at one of the supermarkets or the liquor store; a bottle of beer, for example, was NZ$2.50 outside, against $6.50 from the minibar.
We didn’t try the restaurant because we wanted to sample the local restaurants, but we didn’t hear anything negative about it. We found it annoying having to ask every evening whether the restaurant would be open for breakfast the following day, but in the end we took room service breakfast every morning and enjoyed it. It was much better value than the buffet breakfast when the restaurant was open.
Being so near the town centre (and Picton is not big), we tried a number of the local restaurants. Oxley’s, Le Cafe and The Barn were all good, but could be pricey for a la carte, but the Flying Haggis (the local Scottish pub) offered the best value food, although it wouldn’t win any prizes for ambience.
There are several companies by the waterfront that offer various types of cruises, although most actually run a ferry service to and from various locations in the Sounds, and also have foot passengers on board to enjoy the views. We went with Endeavour Express – comfortable, but although the captain was amenable and would chat to you if you went to him, there was no PA and no real guided tour. I don’t know if this was the same for the other ‘cruises’.
We hired a car for a couple of days and visited several of the local towns. Car availability seemed to be affected by the Christchurch earthquake, which happened early in our visit, and one suspects the car hire companies were withholding cars in the hope of making a quick profit from the fleeing victims – until our visit, I’ve never experienced Avis, Hertz and Budget all having no cars available in the same place at the same time. However, Apex cars in Auckland Street offered us a reasonable rate, and we used the car to visit Blenheim (interesting), Nelson (bustling – do go on the 1925 charabanc tour of the town), and Kaikoura (full of tacky cafes, and 2-hour whale-watching boat trips for $145).
Overall, we had a great time in Picton, with the town itself being pleasantly smart and quaint at the same time. I don’t understand the Beachcomber Inn’s lowly position in the TA rankings – it’s clean, quiet (certainly in the rooms away from the roadside), has spacious rooms, perfect location, not costly, and we found the room service breakfasts ideal to eat out on the balcony. OK, we could have done with a light and a table on the balcony, and the hotel could offer a free shuttle service from the ferry terminal, but you’d pay for it in the room rate. An excellent choice, and we would return without hesitation if we went back to Picton.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AHassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed 1 night on the 3rd floor. The room was immaculately clean & beautifully decorated. The staff were all great & the room was excellent value for money. Very convenient for town & the ferries. My only complaint was that the bed was not very firm, but I have experienced a lot worse!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

There are two things that might put travellers off this hotel. Firstly, it is in an ugly building, and secondly, lots of coach parties use it. I found the second point no problem at all, and as regards the first, you can't see a building when you're inside it.

Reading other reviews, I think there might be quite a lot of variety in the quality of rooms. Ours was wonderful - beautifully furnished in excellent taste, with a balcony and a heavenly view over the harbour. There was even a little kitchenette, and the fact that the door opened on to an extenal corridor with a busy local road outside was no problem because the bathroom and the kitchen were between the bedroom and the outside door.
Without exception, staff were excellent, and the receptionists (who doubled up in the bar in the evenings) combined efficiency with that natural warmth and concern for their guests which makes for an enjoyable stay.

We ate in the restaurant three times, and the food was excellent, if rather too copious.

We moved here from the Mercure next door (see review), without doubt the worst hotel I have stayed at in over 40 in New Zealand. What a difference, and at NZ$155 it was a full $100 a night cheaper than the awful Mercure.

So, a lovely quiet room, great staff, wonderful position - we'll certainly stay here again on our next NZ visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We had a fairly spacious and clean room. It was a little dated but more with a homely feel to it. The hotel had a small outdoor pool and nice gardens to sit and relax (which the rooms opened out onto on the ground level or a balcony at the higher levels). The staff were friendly and accommodating; dinner was also nice with a special vegetarian wrap made especially for us.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _En__Kay1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Property: Picton Beachcomber Inn
Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#6 Family Hotel in Picton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton
Picton Beachcomber Inn New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing