We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Picton Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central Picton Location”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Modern, clean warm suite. Very comfy bed. Quite spacious. Nice views from balcony of Picton harbour. Easy walk for dining, shopping and ferry terminals. We had a continental breakfast included which was very tasty. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keenonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    117
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
140
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Really nice room with huge, comfy bed and pillows, and 2 couches. Can't beat the view.

Room Tip: Best views from the top/3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Loved Picton. Very pretty with lots to do. Many hiking trails. Looks over harbor. Staff amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teresa99022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I were part of a hiking group that spent two nights in Picton. We arrived on the Interislander Ferry a day early, in order to enjoy kayaking in the Queen Charlotte Sound, so our total was three nights at the Beachcomber.
The Inn is very close to Picton harbor, and it was about a three minute walk to the kayak rental store. Our room had a large balcony with a wonderful harbor view. We had the good fortune of watching two very pretty sunrises from our room. The hotel is clean, and quite pleasant. It is situated conveniently in the tiny town of Picton, and walking about the town to collect needed sundries was easy. Conveniently, the Inn has a restaurant, and we had our breakfasts at the Inn, and two dinners there with our group. The food was very good. Internet access is provided for a very modest fee.
No hesitation here in giving the Beachcomber Inn four stars.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Our 'double' room was huge, with two double beds and a little kitchenette. It was a bit odd that there was no sink in the bathroom, though, and we had to wash our hands and brush our teeth at the kitchen sink, but other than this the room was great - clean, spacious and had everything we needed.
I was a little disappointed in dinner - we were travelling on a tour around NZ, and had advised the tour guide in advance that I was vegetarian. All the other hotels we stayed at offered a vegetarian option except this one, who said when I asked for one that a vegetarian option would take an extra 30-40 minutes (everyone else in the tour had their food already, so this wasn't a great option!).
The location is perfect - just a few minutes' walk from the seafront and the centre of Picton, with lovely views across the water.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were in Picton on the evening of Saturday the 21st January, the beachcomber was our tours stop for the night. Picton is not too big a place and the hotel is not far from the shops or the harbour. We arrived on a very sunny afternoon and to my dismay the sun was flooding into our allocated room, no 106, and there was no air conditioning. I would say though that the room was quite large and had a double and single bed, a kitchen and a good shower. We had a set evening meal which was of good quality. I also enjoyed the breakfast the next morning.
The luck - Picton was holding an annual Maritime Festival that evening, with live bands playing music on the green by the harbourside. Fireworks in the marina at 10pm were also good

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We arrived without booking and were attracted to this central hotel by a sign saying "We aren't as expensive as we look"! The relief manager gave us a great friendly welcome, let us check in early and gave a reasonable price of $125 for 3 Adults staying in a good size studio room on the second floor. The room was ok and very clean with a small balcony overlooking the pool and with great views of the marina.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Property: Picton Beachcomber Inn
Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#6 Family Hotel in Picton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton
Picton Beachcomber Inn New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing