We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Hi there,

I held my wedding at McCormick House last week. It was a small wedding and the front garden was perfect. I also stayed the night and the rooms were absolutely gorgeous and well appointed. The owners Carl and Jeanne are lovely and went out of their way to make everything go to plan. I would thoroughly recommend this venue for anyone needing accomodation or needing a small outdoor event venue.

Room Tip: I took the 'Palm Room' and my mum stayed in the room behind. Each room is different but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omalleyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlPicton, Owner at McCormick House Luxury Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Jeanne and I are glad everything went so well with our first boutique wedding at McCormick House.We were very aware that things may not go to plan, but it was so easy to discuss with Amber, what needed to happen on the day.
So many details need to be worked through for everyone's expectations to be met.
Everyone involved helped to make the occasion flow perfectly.
We wish the very best for Amber and Matt and their future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We discovered this wonderful accommodation as part of an arranged trip to do the Queen Charlotte Track. The standard of service from Carl and Jeanne was outstanding and we were made so welcome in their gorgeous house. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we would without hesitation return to enjoy more time there. We spent a total of six weeks in New Zealand with no bad experience of accommodation but this one excels!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah209973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

We book-ended our five day walk on the Queen Charlotte Sound track with overnights at McCormick House at start and finish. This turned out be a great decision, as everything about this B&B is of exceptionally high standard and incredibly welcoming. When we arrived on the ferry from Wellington, Carl and Jeanne the owners picked us up from the terminal with our bags.

The house is large, beautifully decorated and has a very warm and welcoming feel to it. Our room was gorgeous, with a view, comfy bed, great bathroom and absolutely the best shower we had in our week in NZ - roomy, instant hot, good pressure and no temperature variation - our four shower standards! The free wifi works really well too.

We want into Picton for dinner on our first night and again Carl drove us down and pointed out the options. After a nice dinner we walked back, as it isn't far and was a fine night. On our final night we had Jeanne's lovely antipasto platter and a great bottle of aged Marlborough Chardonnay - both of which we thoroughly recommend! The platter was delicious and enough for three people at least. Breakfasts at McCormick are also awesome with everything you could want hot or continental and all delicious.

The nice food and surroundings aside, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of our hosts that made McCormick stand out for us from a week of very high standard accommodations. From looking up forecasts for us, checking times with our walking company, having a glass of wine and a chat in front of the fire, driving us to the ferry again on the last morning, we couldn't have asked for better service.

We will definitely book McCormick House if ever in Picton again.
Thanks Carl and Jeanne for a memorable stay....
David and Christine Gribble

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Last month we were lucky enough to stay at McCormick House a lovely Arts and Craft Home. We were treated to an excellent room, spacious clean and relaxing. Close to the port for our morning departure on the Picton Ferry. Carl even recommended a nice restaurant for dinner which we enjoyed. Our breakfast was first class. We highly recommend staying at McCormick House. Also Carl is a furniture maker and has built a lot of the amazing furniture. Thanks again Carl and Jeanne.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Captains room with a bath over looking native trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for two nights. House smelt liked cats. Rooms were small dark and cluttered considering the rates. The house is a 20 minute walk from town centre and the only views are the neighbors back gardens. Host were nice enough but if your hoping for a view of the water this is not the place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whyredfu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlPicton, Owner at McCormick House Luxury Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We were not totally surprised to read this review. The husband made the booking, whom we found pleasant and courteous. From the moment his wife/partner arrived, she was frosty, making this a very uncomfortable stay for us.
To set the record straight: Yes we do have two cats, Libby and Toby, who live full time in our separate part of McCormick House. They will occasionally wander into our guest area at breakfast time to say "hello,"so we encourage guests to keep their bedroom doors closed,
as we are aware some people are not cat lovers or may have allergies.
Our website and other advertising of the property clearly states, that we are located on half an acre of native forest garden overlooking a bush reserve and not water views.
We also state that we are minutes walk from the town center and waterfront, which we think provides a quiet, relaxing atmosphere that most guests appreciate. If this is a problem, we are very happy to provide courtesy transfers. We are sorry that we did not meet this guest's expectations, but had we been made aware of her concerns at the time, we would have been happy to provide a larger, lighter room, or alternatively refer them to another suitable property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

An excellent B&B, with impressive attention to detail and superb food. Staying in with the platter one evening was a great way to relax at the end of an active day. Our hosts were wonderfully informative about the area, nothing was too much trouble, and we hated having to leave.

Room Tip: Staying in with the platter one evening is a great way to relax at the end of an active day. Our ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkers316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hosts are unfailingly polite, cheerful and helpful. You feel like a real guest and not a paying one. The rooms are large, very clean and the bathrooms are top notch. Best B&B we have ever stayed at!
Breakfast is great as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 22 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#5 of 22 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCormick House Luxury Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick House Luxury Accommodation

Property: McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Address: 21 Leicester Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — McCormick House Luxury Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCormick House and your 'Kiwi' hosts Jeanne and Carl, offer luxury 5 star bed and breakfast accommodation in Picton. Set in a quiet, sunny location on half an acre of private established, native gardens, historic McCormick House is ideally located just 3 minutes drive from Picton Interisland ferry or train station. Choose from three individually designed rooms - each richly furnished with a sumptuous bed, luxurious 100% Egyptian cotton linens, each with its own stunning, designer en suite bathroom. Start your day at this luxury Picton bed and breakfast with a leisurely delicious gourmet breakfast. In the evening, join your hosts for a pre-dinner glass of local world class Marlborough wine. Picton is an ideal base for walking the stunning Queen Charlotte Track or visiting famous Marlborough wineries. Eco friendly McCormick House is also only minutes walk from Picton town centre, cafes, restaurants and galleries. Water activities of the picturesque Queen Charlotte Sound include boat cruises, kayaking, sailing, fishing, eco tours and dolphin watching. Carl and Jeanne enjoy meeting guests from different cultures and both look forward to welcoming you to their Picton bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your McCormick House Luxury Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCormick House Luxury Accommodation Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing