We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far Better than Expected (as a B&B better than four)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Far Better than Expected (as a B&B better than four)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We drove to Picton from Blenheim airport and didn't have much trouble finding the house (it might have helped if we looked at the directions before trying to get there). A quiet side street off the main road out of town (you pass through the center on the way from Blenheim) and an attractive house that seems ordinary (well, beyond that by local standards) from the outside. The three rooms, as you can see from the website, are very different and very colorful. We stayed in a room with a separate lounge porch with jacuzzi and an excellent, modern bath. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and Carl's lesson on various honeys as well as on the difference between Vegemite and Marmite (English vs. New Zealand) was a treat (as was the honey. Marmite/Vegamite, not so much). Jeanne and Carl are great hosts and very good at recommending hikes. The house is about a 15-20 minute walk to the town center (which is fairly sparse) with a nice waterfront and boats to go out on Queen Charlotte Sound and to get you to and pick you up from a day hike on the Queen Charlotte Track. These are really nice people who run a very, very good B&B (the four stars would be five if I were rating B&B's rather than on a hotel scale. There is a cat, but contrary to the remarks of others, we detected neither a smell nor any evidence of that cat except when it walked by (unobtrusively). If you are in Picton, this accommodation looked to be a better place to stay than hotels in town unless you need a view of the water ( the view from our room was great (the gardens are on house property and well maintained by Jeanne and Carl).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dls0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We had a great couple of nights in Picton at Jeanne & Carl's place. Carl was an excellent host and we are most grateful for all the interesting conversations and education he provided from great walks hikes information and details based on his own experience to the different varieties of honey New Zealand offers. I would say the house is beautiful, our room was bright, airy and comfortable. The location of the lodge is fantastic just at the entrance of really nice hiking paths. We were supposed to stay for one night only at Picton, however due to really bad weather the ferry to the North Island was cancelled on the spot and Carl was kind enough to re-arrange his plans (he was traveling south that day, since we were the only guests) to have us for an extra night. We are truly thankful for that gesture and can only say he is a terrific person that added sweet memories of our time in New Zealand.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnegrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at McCormick House. Thanks Jeanne and Carl for the friendliness and hospitality shown to us whilst we were with you. Our room was light, airy and comfortable. The food delicious, fresh and beautifully presented. Nothing was too much trouble and your advice was very helpful when we were looking for places to visit and somewhere to eat. We appreciated having tea/coffee and fresh fruit available at all times and of course the pre-dinner drinks were lovely. Carl had us taste one of his special wines and it was one of the best we have ever had. Really recommend this boutique bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clindleyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Thank you Jeanne & Carl for everything!!! Loved your arts and crafts home! The grounds were fun to walk around and take pictures of your native plants. We had homemade muesli for the first time & loved it! Fresh fruit and homemade bread and a great education on honey! YUM! We stayed 3 nights and loved our room, a bit small for all our luggage but it was clean and fresh and snappy fun! The bathroom was a wee bit on the not so private side but was clean and bright and had a heat lamp! Very beachy feeling and perky! Wifi worked great and they always had cookies and hot chocolate ready for us when we came home. They were a pluthera of knowledge and great fun to talk too. We really enjoyed the appetizers and wine on the patio! And a huge huge thank you for tracking us down after we left to let us know we left our camera chargers behind and for making a HUGE effort to get them to us asap! Thank you!! So grateful! The house DID NOT smell like cats and I know bc I am super allergic to cats and I did fine for 3 nights! We even survived an earthquake one morning!! The house was a bit outside of town but we had a car and within 2 minutes we were at dinner on the wharf. I preferred the landscape and yard and garden to downtown anyway... This isn't a bustling town with wild nightlife!... it is a quaint and charming port. Carl gave us a tour of his woodshop and we were SO impressed with his skills and knowledge! Thank you for the CHEESE knife-very useful for 2 people from Wisconsin's Dairy State !! Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristWFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

When I stay in these boutique bed and breakfast locations, which are almost unique to New Zealand, I judge them on three criteria.

The layout out of the property and the rooms sense of specialness.

The passion of our hosts for offering hospitality.

The quality of the breakfasts.

In all three regards McCormick House delivers I felt at home, welcomed but crucially not in someones home. As an interior designer it was obvious each room had the stroke of a special creative mind.

Jeanne and Carl may well have an off day sometime but they were the perfect hosts knowledgable, friendly and approachable.

The breakfasts were very good with a fine home made muesli.

I talk a good deal about how Trip Advisor has its fair share of passive/aggressive reviewers incapable of asking their hosts to deal with an issue but quite ready to tell the global audience how something minor went wrong which could easily be addressed.

If something needed addressing these guys would do it for you.

We stayed in the Palm Room with the jacuzzi worth every penny.

Room Tip: There all great rooms individually designed for slightly different budgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlPicton, Owner at McCormick House Luxury Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us, Michelle. As a host it is great to get feedback, discuss ideas, and share what we have learned about our beautiful country.
Jeanne and I very much enjoyed having you stay at McCormick House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Hi there,

I held my wedding at McCormick House last week. It was a small wedding and the front garden was perfect. I also stayed the night and the rooms were absolutely gorgeous and well appointed. The owners Carl and Jeanne are lovely and went out of their way to make everything go to plan. I would thoroughly recommend this venue for anyone needing accomodation or needing a small outdoor event venue.

Room Tip: I took the 'Palm Room' and my mum stayed in the room behind. Each room is different but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omalleyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlPicton, Owner at McCormick House Luxury Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Jeanne and I are glad everything went so well with our first boutique wedding at McCormick House.We were very aware that things may not go to plan, but it was so easy to discuss with Amber, what needed to happen on the day.
So many details need to be worked through for everyone's expectations to be met.
Everyone involved helped to make the occasion flow perfectly.
We wish the very best for Amber and Matt and their future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We discovered this wonderful accommodation as part of an arranged trip to do the Queen Charlotte Track. The standard of service from Carl and Jeanne was outstanding and we were made so welcome in their gorgeous house. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we would without hesitation return to enjoy more time there. We spent a total of six weeks in New Zealand with no bad experience of accommodation but this one excels!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah209973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 22 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#5 of 22 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCormick House Luxury Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick House Luxury Accommodation

Property: McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Address: 21 Leicester Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — McCormick House Luxury Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCormick House and your 'Kiwi' hosts Jeanne and Carl, offer luxury 5 star bed and breakfast accommodation in Picton. Set in a quiet, sunny location on half an acre of private established, native gardens, historic McCormick House is ideally located just 3 minutes drive from Picton Interisland ferry or train station. Choose from three individually designed rooms - each richly furnished with a sumptuous bed, luxurious 100% Egyptian cotton linens, each with its own stunning, designer en suite bathroom. Start your day at this luxury Picton bed and breakfast with a leisurely delicious gourmet breakfast. In the evening, join your hosts for a pre-dinner glass of local world class Marlborough wine. Picton is an ideal base for walking the stunning Queen Charlotte Track or visiting famous Marlborough wineries. Eco friendly McCormick House is also only minutes walk from Picton town centre, cafes, restaurants and galleries. Water activities of the picturesque Queen Charlotte Sound include boat cruises, kayaking, sailing, fishing, eco tours and dolphin watching. Carl and Jeanne enjoy meeting guests from different cultures and both look forward to welcoming you to their Picton bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your McCormick House Luxury Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCormick House Luxury Accommodation Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing