We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
89
120
84
68
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
120
84
68
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kenepuru sound amazing setting queen charlotte marlborough sounds qc track stunning views spent two nights glass of wine kowhai walkers accommodation timber tramp kayaking
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We were booked into this resort for one night as part of a package deal on Monday 23rd February 2015. After a long day on the Queen Charlotte track we arrived at the resort hotel and thought it was quite nice at first. The service we received from some people were really friendly and welcoming others not so much which was disappointing. Our rooms, there was us and another couple were nice at first glance but we both found pubic hair and long hair in our showers and we could tell that our rooms hadn't been used in a while due to the musty smell and the cobwebs. The bed we had was very big and comfortable so appreciated that after a long day. We then went into the main lounge which unfortunately had quite a few flies which wasn't enjoyable while you are having a drink. The food we ordered in the restaurant was actually really lovely so our meal though expensive was very enjoyable. We then went for a walk to the jetty/wharf and then found out it was closed due to effluent being discharged 400 metres out so we couldn't walk in the water plus the swimming pool was dirty and only half full which was very disappointing. Granted due to the shortage of water we understood but thought it should have been emptied and cleaned at least. The hotel we thought looked old and tired both inside and out and could do with a spruce up. One thing we did appreciate the next morning was the bus ride up to the track.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We were booked for one night at the Picton, NZ Portage (no way could this be considered a resort) First of all, we had to take a "water taxi" there for $90 a person. OK, we thought this is probably a beautiful resort. How wrong!!! When we arrived, the place looked run down. And, believe me, it was run down. The desk clerk told us we were going to have "up-graded rooms"! And, he also said, the water pressure was "low" (understatement-could not even take a shower- it was only a "drip") The food was so overpriced - $20 for a burger and $22 for a continental breakfast, and that was the only place to eat. Neither my husband nor myself could eat the burger, IT WAS NOT BEEF - it was a very tough "mystery" meat. There were no lounge chairs for the water area, no canoes, NOTHING! We were told the pool water was low!! That it was, and I'm sure it hadn't been cleaned for months!!! Filthy!!! We didn't eat much for dinner, so we asked if they would pop us the microwave popcorn we had with us - of yes, they would, but we could only eat it in our room!!!! Then we couldn't figure out the air conditioning - not a problem, because there was no air conditioning!!! Our rooms were extremely warm all night!!!!! This place was an absolute night mare!!!! The only down point of our 2 week stay in New Zealand! If you see pictures of a "beautiful Portage Resort Hotel" in Picton, believe me, there is nothing beautiful about this place.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazza0463, Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Hello Helena from Montana, such a beautiful place is Montana, We like to think Kenepuru Sound might be that way too.Water taxi fares are a standard charge of $40 and I have checked here locally, no one owns up to charging you $90. If you can e mail me with the company you used I will try to get you some recompense.
You obviously were unimpressed, so I will only answer your most salient points. Water is a scarce commodity in summer times here as we are totally isolated from urban services and rely on rainwater from surrounding hills. This year we were in severe drought, so water rationing was in place, hence low pressure and no freshwater for the swimming pool. Regrettable we do not have air conditioning, it is uneconomic with so many individual villas spread out over a comparatively large site and extremes of hot weather are infrequent. Kayaks are always available locally on pre-booking and are rented and unguided. We make no excuses for our restaurant prices and the Chef has been publicly clapped many times this year for his excellent platters. In fairness I don't think we can compare with your High levels of quality at prices charged here in N.Z. and our apologies for not satisfying you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My walking group stayed overnight at Portage in February 2015 and were delighted to receive a warm welcome which heralded attentive service, good food and slick, comfortable and modern rooms (we were in double rooms as well as a hillside suite) with great views over the sound.
We had a couple of excellent meals and received a timely complementary bus lift to the start of our next day's walk. Staff also showed good local knowledge with information about the track we faced - their advice proved to be well researched.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I have also left this on the Portage page on tripadvisor..

As a returning guest we were incredibly disappointed. Pubic hair on bathroom floor on arrival. Overpriced food that had no effort put in 6 nuggets and about 10 chips $15. Stale bread. Broken pool and not told on booking. Weren't able to swim in the sea, fine but weren't told on booking. A dog barking ALL night, that was at the hotel. The whole place was a mess!! The view is beautiful but it is at Punga cove and fernaux lodge and thats where we will go from now. I'm in the hotel industry and understand the challenges but there is no excuse for this poor level. I have tried to get In touch with the team on 3 occasions before I reviewed them but as no one has replied I thought it only fair not to let others be let down.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Day321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazza0463, Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It would have been so much better had you mentioned any of this at the time, being within the industry we might have expected you to voice complaints or comments at the time and speak to management about these matters. Like many other so called reviewers, why do people complain afterwards, but mention nothing whilst they are here?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I was one of 9 ladies who stayed here as our last stop after walking the Queen Charlotte track. We stayed here after our longest day walking and found the resort wonderful. The rooms were lovely overlooking the sound. Some of the group had a swim and enjoyed the spa with a view.
We enjoyed drinks before dinner on the deck and then we all enjoyed our dinner. The food was beautiful. The staff from the time we arrived were very attentive throughout our stay. One of our group sprained her foot on the way to the lodge and they were very attentive to her needs.This was from the staff on the desk.and in the restaurant. We stayed at a couple of other lodges during our walk and Portage certainly met all our expectations and more. We were elated that they provided transport back up to the start of the walk next morning. Well done to management and staff.

Room Tip: The hillside rooms had a lovely view of the sound.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxinefromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews