We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Picton Campervan Park(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Broadway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glengary Bed and Breakfast(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Top 10(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sequoia Lodge(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park(Waikawa)(Great Value!)
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
59
112
91
33
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
112
91
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewheated poolgreat viewmodern bathroomsky channelsnice roomhandy locationduty managersmall balconygreat showerground floorfree wifistayed one nightshops and restaurantswould stay againdouble bedlate ferry
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

There are way better options in Picton....this property is old, poorly maintained, no safe, doors to shared balconies don't shut properly, bathroom is circa 1970 with cracked tiles and stained basin, with just a slatted door to the room. Our harbour view room overlooked the harbour, but the pool full of screaming kids was in front of us. The whole place is generally scruffy and cheap. Location is central.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank diikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Diikon,

My apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You are correct that some of our rooms do not have safes but we always welcome the storage of important documents/money in our hotels main safe, alternatively our Superior rooms have their own safety deposit boxes in the room.

We are all looking forward to the coming months as our older style rooms (Standard & Standard Ocean View) will be getting a makeover to bring them into line with our refurbished rooms (Superior & Superior Ocean View). I am sorry about the noise from the children in the pool, we are a family friendly hotel and do encourage all guests to enjoy the heated pool. Any noise disturbance should be reported to the Duty Manager so we can come to a solution where everyone is able to relax and enjoy their stay.

Best regards,

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here because I'm a member of the Mercure club (when it still was branded Mercure) and I've had good experiences with their hotels. This particular hotel may not be entirely up to standards but we certainly didn't have such a bad experience as some of the other posters mentioned. Our room was in average condition, tidy and with a comfy bed, the bathroom was slightly dated but ok. The room temperature was a bit hot and AC didn't seem to work but with the sliding doors open this was quickly solved. The view from the balcony was great with the beautiful Picton Marina in the distance. The only real issue I had was the lack of an elevator closer to the room (many stairs + heavy suitcases when travelling around NZ for 4 weeks) and the lack of free WiFi. In this day in and age WiFi should be free. I've managed to log in to the free Telecom WiFi access point that is broadcast from a phone booth in the marina, when holding the phone up in the air on the balcony and that was good enough to fetch some e-mails. Wired connections are fine but do not plug into a smart phone..
Our receptionist was German and a bit stern, although I speak German that didn't trigger any friendly reaction.

Picton is a very quaint little town with lot's of lovely restaurants I really liked it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floors for a better view
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Martijn B

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We agree that the positioning of the elevator is not ideal but our staff are always ready to help with luggage so we would encourage all our guests to accept their assistance. We do understand how important it is to be connected, we provide 30 minutes of complimentary Wi-Fi daily and more time can be purchased for an extra fee. We are currently exploring options to be able to provide free Wi-Fi all the time for our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and I am glad to hear you enjoyed Picton
Regards,

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Rooms were old, old, old and dirty. The door on my floor was a safety danger as it was falling down! The pool looked dirty too.
Food was not hot and staff not very friendly.
Would never stay there again which is a pity as the location is great.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms, I think. I travelled in a group of 20 and nobody had an acceptable room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1holidaygirl15_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear 1holidaygirl15_

It is disappointing to read your feedback, please accept my apologies that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are always trying to improve our services and I am sure your feedback will serve as encouragement to our team. We are excited to announce that we have a new team in the kitchen managed by an enthusiastic Head Chef and we are getting fantastic feedback about the food from tour groups and locals.

Thank you

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Looks fantastic on the website, so a weekend away relaxing in the pool. NO WATER. Updated room tired, no minibar or extras . Stayed one night and am still trying to receive second night refund. Not answering emails.or mobile. We paid $165.00 for the night and found a hotel in Blenheim for $135.00. Pool {including water heated to 32degs] and all the trimmings in room.
STAY AWAY

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Geraldine H,

Thank you for posting your feedback about the Mercure. Please note that the hotel changed management on the 1st of December 2013 and is now the Park Regis Picton.

With regards,

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We loved Picton it is a great little gateway to the South Island. This hotel has a great location but is very tired and for $190 per night I didn't feel we got value for money. The pool either needs cleaning or re painting

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Nick2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We agree that Picton is a great gateway to the South Island and with the adventure walks, kayaking, stunning Queen Charlotte Sounds and famous Marlborough wines we think it is a great destination as well.
We quite often get the comment that the pool looks dirty but it is unfortunately the paint starting to fade off the bottom. We are excited to say that under the new StayWell management of the hotel this will be completely re-painted this year ready for next season.

Thank you

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews