We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we stayed in a new refurbished room , beautiful , friendly staff , great location,”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

we stayed in one of the beautiful upgraded rooms , they are lovely inside , everything you want , well priced , clean and right in town , you cant get any closer for the money to ferries , , thanks loved our stay and will be back

Room Tip: value for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullydump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

This motel must depend on its location to attract business because it is old and in great need of refurbishment. Unfortunately we arrived late and were unable to go elsewhere. The fridge was extremely noisy, the heater wasn't working, there was no bath mat, the carpet looked dirty, it had been advertised as having a full kitchen but only had a microwave for cooking (and the kitchen was the smallest one that we had experienced after two weeks staying in the South Island) and the television reception was atrocious. Overall it was a great disappointment. If you are thinking of staying there - don't.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Situated right in the heart of Picton, but quiet, clean and comfortable. Obliging staff, ran our bags to the ferry. Would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

In 5 weeks of travel In N.Z this was one of only two motels to which we would always return.
The place was everything one would wish for,-clean, bright and cheerful, but, equally important,-the owner was super friendly and helpful and always went 'the extra mile'.
She looked after our car, free of charge, while we did a 4 day tramp and, along with free unlimited internet access this was excellent value.
Motels are motels, but it is the people who run them who make a difference to your holiday experience. The owner of The Americano made a difference to ours.
John and Rose Dudley, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Situated right in the centre of Picton on the high street, so all shops and cafe's/bars at hand. We had room 2 on the ground floor, table and chairs outside for smokers at the entrance. Roomy unit with dopuble and single bed, comfortable enough. Bit bland with decor, everything is brown and with white brick painted walls. Kitchenette unit basic, fridge mini microwave and kettle. No hair dryer but an iron and board. Good sized shower unit. Guest laundry, own restaurant called Rumba...Free internet access and free on site parking....staff really helpful, and will to assist if need be....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

What can I say about this motel?
Well for starters it is old and a bit worn and very basic. We stopped in a corner two bedroom apartment overlooking the High Street above the shops with a harbour view. The utilities in the room all worked but were very old and outdated. It is in need of a refurbishment but in saying that though it was all clean and hygenic.
The beds were comfy and had a good nights sleep which was what was wanted after a long drive. The motel has free high speed wifi and you get a cartoon of milk on arrival which is a nice touch. The location is great though for the small town of picton with shops resturants and bars right on your door stop. There is a great coffee shop called Gusto just over the road which opens from dawn even on Sundays.
A visit to the flying haggis pub over the road is a must to. They do great steaks and cheap prices.
The motel is worth a stop if your only stopping one night or two. Anymore and I'd look for somewhere a bit more modern.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireKnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

It honestly was my favorite little motel room
Our room was on the main street above the shops.
The beds were comfy, i loved our view of the mountains. The tv was small, we didnt come to New Zealand to watch tv.
It was clean, the lady was super nice to us, and she gives you milk =)
Its no MGM Grand but its super cute and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stirken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing